Browse By Name


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

G

Kelly P Gaither

Kelly P Gaither

Senior Research Scientist, Texas Advanced Computing Center
kelly@tacc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8957

Expertise: Scientific visualization; Feature detection; Illumination techniques; Visualization techniques; Visualization applications

James K Galbraith

James K Galbraith

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
galbraith@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1244

Expertise: Macroeconomic policy; monetary policy, economic development policies; comparative economic policy; economic inequality

Jose Galindo Montelongo

Mexican Materials Bibliographer
j.montelongo@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 4576

Expertise: Latin American Literature, Resources for Mexican Studies, Literary Archives

Karl Galinsky

Karl Galinsky

Professor, Department of Classics, College of Liberal Arts
galinsky@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8504, +1 512 471 5742

Expertise: Cultural memory; Roman Literature and Civilization; Classical Tradition in Popular Culture; Greco-Roman antiquity; classical heritage of America; post-tenure review legislation

Patricia K Galloway

Professor, School of Information
galloway@ischool.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9220

Expertise: Informational retrieval, archives, historical documentation

Venkat  Ganesan

Venkat Ganesan

Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
venkat@che.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4856

Expertise: My research focus is to develop a theoretical and computationally-based program aimed at elucidating the fundamental mechanisms underlying the design of novel, self-assembled advanced materials. The goal is to complement the research of experimentalists (synthetic chemists, chemical engineers, and material scientists) by providing simple but quantitative guidelines to rationally design and synthesize these materials. Towards this broad objective, our group's research focuses on the development and use of a wide variety of tools spanning both equilibrium and nonequilibrium statistical mechanics, conventional fluid mechanics, molecular rheology and computational tools to complex fluids and biological systems.

Vijay K Garg

Vijay K Garg

Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
garg@ece.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9424

Expertise: Distributed systems; Discrete event systems; Software engineering

Douglas C Garrard

Senior Associate Dean Of Students, Office of the Dean of Students
garrardd@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5017, +1 512 232 2850

Michael L Garrison

Michael L Garrison

Professor, School of Architecture
mgarrison@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0185, +1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Advanced Design, environmental controls, solar design

Thomas J Garza

Thomas J Garza

Associate Professor, Department of Slavic and Eurasian Studies, College of Liberal Arts
tjgarza@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9126, +1 512 471 3607

Expertise: Russian language teaching methodology; Applied linguistics; Contemporary Russian culture; The Chechen wars and the media; Post-Soviet youth culture; Language teaching pedagogy; Russian popular culture; Modern Russian language; Contemporary Russian media

Karl  Gebhardt

Karl Gebhardt

Professor, Department of Astronomy, College of Natural Sciences
gebhardt@astro.as.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1473

Expertise: Astronomy, black holes, globular clusters, elliptical galaxies, galaxy clusters, dark energy, HETDEX, Hobby-Eberly Telescope Dark Energy Experiment

Kenneth W Gentle

Kenneth W Gentle

Professor, Department of Physics, College of Natural Sciences
k.gentle@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7581

Expertise: Plasma physics; fusion energy; environment & earth science.

George  Georgiou

George Georgiou

Professor and Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering No. 9, Department of Molecular Biosciences, College of Natural Sciences
gg@che.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6975

Expertise: Antibody engineering; Enzyme engineering; Protein folding in vivo

Elizabeth T Gershoff

Elizabeth T Gershoff

Associate Professor - HDFS Graduate Chair, Human Dev & Family Sci, , College of Natural Sciences
liz.gershoff@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4800

Expertise: Child and youth development; adolescence; parenting; parental discipline; violence; early childhood education

Andreas M Gerstlauer

Andreas M Gerstlauer

Assistant Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
gerstl@ece.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 8294

Expertise: Embedded system design; Electronic system-level (ESL) design automation, modeling, languages, methodologies and tools; Embedded hardware and software synthesis

Michael L Geruso

Michael L Geruso

Assistant Professor, Department of Economics, College of Liberal Arts
mike.geruso@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8704

Expertise: Economics of Health and Healthcare, Development, Economic Demography

Mary Claire Gerwels

Mary Claire Gerwels

Senior Lecturer, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
mcgerwels@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0662, +1 512 471 4155

Wassim M Ghannoum

Wassim M Ghannoum

Assistant Professor, Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
ghannoum@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0897, +1 512 471 1619

Expertise: Design and behavior of reinforced concrete (RC) structures; Large-deformation behavior of RC structures; Earthquake engineering; Structural dynamics; Advanced analytical modeling of RC structures

Ranjit  Gharpurey

Ranjit Gharpurey

Associate Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
ranjitg@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7940

Expertise: High-frequency and high-speed circuit design; Parasitic noise sources in integrated circuits; Radio frequency integrated circuit design for wireless applications

Omar  Ghattas

Omar Ghattas

Professor and John A. and Katherine G. Jackson Chair in Computational Geosciences, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences
omar@ices.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4304

Expertise: Computational geoscience and engineering, simulation and optimization of complex solid, fluid, and biomechanical systems, inverse problems, optimal design, and optimal control

Charles E Gholz

Charles E Gholz

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
egholz@alum.mit.edu
+1 512 471 5882

Expertise: Dr. Gholz works on innovation, defense management, and U.S. foreign policy. He is the coauthor of two books: Buying Military Transformation: Technological Innovation and the Defense Industry, and U.S. Defense Politics: The Origins of Security Policy. His recent scholarship focuses on energy security. He previously taught at the University of Kentucky's Patterson School of Diplomacy and International Commerce. He is also a research affiliate of MIT's Security Studies Program, a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and associate editor of the journal Security Studies. His PhD is from MIT.

Joydeep  Ghosh

Joydeep Ghosh

Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
jghosh@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8980

Expertise: Data Mining; Web mining; Predictive analytics, machine learning; large-scale statistical analysis; high-performance computing;

David V Gibson

Senior Research Scientist, IC2 Institute
davidg@icc.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8941, +1 512 475 8901

Expertise: Texas border region; South America; Caribbean; Australia; entrepreneurship research and education

Lawrence E Gilbert

Lawrence E Gilbert

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology, College of Natural Sciences
lgilbert@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4705, +1 512 471 2825

Expertise: Community ecology; wing pattern genetics; biological diversity; imported fire ants/phorid fly interactions; butterfly/plant interactions

Robert B Gilbert

Robert B Gilbert

Professor and Bruswick-Abernathy Regents Professorship in Soil Dynamics & Geotechnical Engineering, Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
bob_gilbert@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3688

Expertise: Performance reliability and risk management for slopes, dams & levees, foundations, waste containment and site remediation

Denise L Gilman

Denise L Gilman

Clinical Professor, School of Law
dgilman@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7796

Expertise: Denise Gilman teaches and directs the Immigration Clinic after having joined the clinical faculty at the University of Texas Law School in the fall of 2007. Professor Gilman received her undergraduate degree with honors in political science from Northwestern University. She received her law degree from Columbia University School of Law where she served on the Law Review. Professor Gilman also has an LLM from Georgetown University Law Center. Professor Gilman clerked for Judge Thomas M. Reavley, at the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. She is fluent in Spanish.

William P Glade

William P Glade

Professor Emeritus, Department of Economics, College of Liberal Arts
glade@eco.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3211

Expertise: Economic development in Latin America; comparative economics; economics of the arts and cultural policy; international cultural relations; international business; banking; money

Jennifer  Glass

Jennifer Glass

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
jennifer-glass@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8355

Expertise: Work and family issues, telecommuting and new labor practices, STEM labor force retention

Earnest F Gloyna

Earnest F Gloyna

Professor Emeritus, Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
e.gloyna@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Industrial waste treatment; municipal wastewater treatment; water quality management; radioactive waste management

Erik  Gnagy

Erik Gnagy

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
gnagy@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9105

John A Goff

John A Goff

Senior Research Scientist, Institute for Geophysics, Jackson School of Geosciences
goff@ig.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0476

Expertise: Seafloor morphology and bathymetry, swath sonar mapping, stratigraphy of the shallow seabed, ultra-high resolution seismic reflection (chrip) systems, sedimentary horizons, sea ice draft, crustal heterogeneity, canyon morphology on continental slopes, abyssal hills

John M Golden

John M Golden

Professor, School of Law
jgolden@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1469

Expertise: Patent law, intellectual property, administrative law.

David B Goldstein

David B Goldstein

Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, Cockrell School of Engineering
david@cfdlab.ae.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4187

Expertise: Development of Numerical Methods; Applications of Computational Fluid Dynamics; Detailed Flow Physics

Rueben A Gonzales

Rueben A Gonzales

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
rgonzales@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5192

Expertise: Alcohol abuse, effects of alcohol on human behavior, addiction.

Alfonso  Gonzales

Alfonso Gonzales

Assistant Professor, Mexican American and Latina_o Studies, , College of Liberal Arts
alfonso.gonzales@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Asylum/Refugee politics; migrant detention; migrant social movements; Latino politics; Gramscian Theory; global political economy; Mexico and Central America. He is particularly interested in what the politics of migration control-which, broadly conceived, includes policing, asylum, detention, and deportation-means for democracy, human rights, and justice.

Gloria  Gonzalez-Lopez

Gloria Gonzalez-Lopez

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
gloria@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6343

Expertise: Sociology of Gender and Sexuality; Migration Studies; Sexual Violence; Masculinities; Sociology of Family Life; Qualitative Methodologies

Steven J Goode

Steven J Goode

Professor, School of Law
sgoode@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1331

Expertise: Evidence; criminal law; professional responsibility & ethics with emphasis on privileges and confidentiality; communication.

Mark A Gooden

Mark A Gooden

Professor, Director of Principalship Program and PSEL Coordinator, Department of Educational Administration, College of Education
gooden@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8574

Expertise: Principal training; role of principal

John B Goodenough

John B Goodenough

Professor and Virginia H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
jgoodenough@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1646

Expertise: Transition-metal oxides; lithium ion batteries; fuel cells; oxygen-permeation membranes

Andrea C Gore

Andrea C Gore

Professor, College of Pharmacy
andrea.gore@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3669

Expertise: The brain and menopause, effects of environmental chemicals on reproductive neuroendocrine function.

Carma R Gorman

Carma R Gorman

Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
cgorman@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0901, +1 512 471 3382

Expertise: History of American industrial design; US intellectual property law pertaining to design; evaluation/criticism of design; Henry Sargent (1770-1845).

Samuel D Gosling

Samuel D Gosling

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
samg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1628

Expertise: Personality, Animal Behavior, Internet, Environmental Psychology, Ecological Psychology

Philip B Gough

Philip B Gough

Professor Emeritus, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
goughpb@gmail.com
+1 512 471 2115, +1 512 471 3493

Expertise: Psychology of reading; psycholinguistics; cognitive psychology

David B Gracy

David B Gracy

Professor Emeritus, School of Information
gracy@ischool.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8291

Expertise: Archival administration, records management, preservation administration; issues relating to broad domain of documentary heritage of civilization; Texas history (various periods)

Lino A Graglia

Lino A Graglia

Professor, School of Law
lgraglia@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1363

Expertise: Constitutional law; antitrust; federalism; role of courts; race discrimination

Don B Graham

Don B Graham

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
dgbb@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8387

Expertise: Southwestern American literature; Australian literature and film; American literature; Texas literature; Texas culture; Texas film

Michael H Granof

Michael H Granof

Professor, Department of Accounting, McCombs School of Business
michael.granof@mccombs.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4678

Expertise: Governmental and nonprofit accounting and finance, financial accounting and reporting, auditing

Laurie B Green

Laurie B Green

Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
lbgreen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7245

Expertise: Comparative Race Studies; African American Studies; Gender Studies; Working-Class History; Migration; Urban History; Poverty and Public Health; Social Movements; Political and Cultural History

Terrance L Green

Terrance L Green

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Administration, College of Education
tgreen@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Dr. Green's research focuses on the nexus of urban school reform and socially just community development. Additionally, his research interests include ways that urban policy can be leveraged to improve educational outcomes and community development in low-income neighborhoods of color. Op-ed: <a href="http://www.freep.com/story/opinion/readers/2015/07/17/detroit-schools-segregation/30322513/" target="_blank">http://www.freep.com/story/opinion/readers/2015/07/17/detroit-schools-segregation/30322513/</a> UT College of Education Video: <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hrF2ZW9Cbv4" target="_blank">https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hrF2ZW9Cbv4</a> Texas Tribune Interview: <a href="http://www.texastribune.org/plus/edu/vol-3/no-2/q-terrance-green/" target="_blank">http://www.texastribune.org/plus/edu/vol-3/no-2/q-terrance-green/</a>

Kenneth F Greene

Kenneth F Greene

Associate Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
kgreene@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7206

Expertise: Mexican political parties and elections, Latin American politics, research methods, voting behavior in Mexico and Latin America, social movements, and comparative democratization

Benjamin G Gregg

Benjamin G Gregg

Associate Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
bgregg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7274

Expertise: Democracy, Rule of Law, Human Rights, Political Theory, Social Theory, Bioethics, Genetic Manipulation of Humans

Lisa  Griffin

Lisa Griffin

Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
l.griffin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2786

Expertise: Spinal cord Injury, neuromuscular fatigue, functional electrical stimulation, low back pain, central nervous system control of muscle force, single motor unit recruitment and firing patterns

John M Griffin

John M Griffin

Professor, Department of Finance, McCombs School of Business
john.griffin@mccombs.utexas.edu

Karen  Grumberg

Karen Grumberg

Associate Professor, Department of Middle Eastern Studies, College of Liberal Arts
keren@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5134

Expertise: Contemporary Hebrew literature and comparative Jewish literatures (Hebrew, French, English)

Julia Guernsey

Julia Guernsey

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
j.guernsey@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5850, +1 512 471 7757

Expertise: Olmec and Maya art, architecture, and material culture; ancient Mesoamerican art, themes, iconography, and ritual associations.

Luis V Guevara

Program Coordinator, Center for Mexican American Studies, College of Liberal Arts
lvg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 6769

Expertise: Mexican American Studies

Sean S Gulick

Sean S Gulick

Research Professor, Institute for Geophysics, Jackson School of Geosciences
sean@ig.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0483

Expertise: Tectonic processes, tectonic-climate interactions and geohazards of convergent margins and transitional tectonic environments Role of catastrophism in the geologic record including impact cratering, hurricanes, and tectonic events Marine geophysical imaging at nested resolutions and ground truth through drilling, coring, logging, and submersibles

Frank A Guridy

Frank A Guridy

Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
fguridy@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Transnational History, Sport History, Urban History, Caribbean/African Diaspora History

Robin  Gutell

Robin Gutell

Professor, Department of Integrative Biology, College of Natural Sciences
rgutell@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4814

Expertise: Computational Biology, Comparative Analysis of RNA, RNA Structure, Predicting RNA Structure