Browse by Subject


Search results for "health promotion"

 


Ronen  Avraham

Ronen Avraham

Senior Lecturer, School of Law
ravraham@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1357

Expertise: Torts, Tort Reform, Healthcare Reform, Insurance Law, Law and Economics

Sarah Kate Bearman

Sarah Kate Bearman

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
skbearman@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Dr Bearman's research focuses on the effectiveness and implementation of empirically supported practices for common mental health concerns (anxiety, depression, PTSD, OCD, and disruptive behavior) in publicly-funded settings that serve historically underserved populations of children and families.

Kevin  Bozic

Kevin Bozic

Professor of Surgery, Dell Medical School
kevin.bozic@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5089

Expertise: management of patients with arthritis of the hip and knee, health policy and health care services research, healthcare technology assessment, cost-effectiveness analysis, shared medical decision making, and value-based payment and delivery models

Sharon A Brown

Sharon A Brown

Professor, School of Nursing
sabrown@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4721

Expertise: Type 2 diabetes, health promotion,self-management, health disparities, meta-analysis

Darla M Castelli

Darla M Castelli

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
dcastelli@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7636

Expertise: Studies the relationship between physical activity and cognitive performance in children, adolescents, and emerging adults.

Angela P Clark

Angela P Clark

Associate Professor Emeritus, School of Nursing
apclark@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: chronic heart failure, diabetes, healthy attitudes, cardiovascular health

Don S Crowley

Don S Crowley

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
crowley@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2205, +1 512 232 3949

Expertise: Experienced swimming and diving coach and water safety expert who teaches courses related to swimming.

Brian K Farr

Brian K Farr

Director, Athletic Training Program
bfarr@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1273, +1 512 471 9885

Expertise: Serves as Director of the Athletic Training Education Program and specializes in sports medicine, training athletes, athletic injuries, strength and conditioning, and sports rehabilitation.

Cynthia G Franklin

Cynthia G Franklin

Interim Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Social Work
cfranklin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0533

Expertise: School mental health, Solution-focused Brief Therapy, dropout prevention, at-risk youth, research on how to design schools that promote achievement and a safe, respectful and violent free culture.

Benjamin G Gregg

Benjamin G Gregg

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
bgregg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7274

Expertise: Democracy, Rule of Law, Human Rights, Political Theory, Social Theory, Bioethics, Genetic Manipulation of Humans

Xiaofen D Hamilton

Xiaofen D Hamilton

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
xk93@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3565

Expertise: Researches fitness education, physical activity promotion among k-16 students, and technologies related to physical education teacher education.

Z Leah  Harris

Z Leah Harris

Department Chair, Pediatrics, Department of Pediatrics, Dell Medical School
zena.harris@austin.utexas.edu
+1 240 426 7428, +1 512 324 0595

Carole K Holahan

Carole K Holahan

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
c.holahan@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Studies psychosocial factors in health behavior and health and well-being in adulthood and aging.

Esbelle M Jowers

Esbelle M Jowers

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
ejowers@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6027
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Studies school and community-based interventions regarding physical activity, healthy eating, and the prevention of chronic disease.

Harold W Kohl

Harold W Kohl

Research Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
hkohl@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 391 2530

Expertise: Specializes in public health, epidemiology and the study and promotion of physical activity for health.

Lara  Latimer

Lara Latimer

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
lara.a.latimer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7190

Expertise: Teaches from a holistic health perspective with a focus on personal health, including mental health, meditation and other stress management techniques.

Brad  Love

Brad Love

Associate Professor, Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations, Moody College of Communication
lovebrad@utexas.edu

Expertise: persuasive capabilities of mass media; public health

Christopher P Moriates

Christopher P Moriates

Assistant Dean of Healthcare Value, Associate Chair of Quality, Safety, and Value, Dell Medical School
cmoriates@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5168

Expertise: curriculum, value-based healthcare

Todd A Olmstead

Todd A Olmstead

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
tolmstead@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8456

Expertise: Healthcare Policy, Healthcare, Health Economics, Health Services Research

Katherina A Payne

Katherina A Payne

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
kapayne@utexas.edu

Expertise: Researches civic education, early childhood/elementary education, and teacher education to examine the role of relationships, community, and justice to make classrooms democratic and equitable spaces.

Erin M Rodriguez

Erin M Rodriguez

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
erodriguez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0283
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Dr. Erin Rodríguez studies family, sociocultural, and contextual influences on childrenÂ’s development and health outcomes, with a focus on understanding and reducing health disparities affecting low-SES Latinx youth.

Steve Strakowski

Steve Strakowski

Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Department of Psychiatry
steve.strakowski@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5047

Expertise: Mental Health, Psychiatry

Alexa M Stuifbergen

Alexa M Stuifbergen

Dean, School of Nursing
astuifbergen@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4764, +1 512 471 4100

Expertise: Health promotion, chronic illness, disability, multiple sclerosis; rehabilitation, post-polio syndrome, fibromyalgia

Gayle M Timmerman

Gayle M Timmerman

Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Nursing
gtimmerman@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9080, +1 512 471 9087

Expertise: Binge eating, weight management in women.

Janice (Jan) S Todd

Janice (Jan) S Todd

Department Chair, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
j.todd@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0993, +1 512 471 0995

Expertise: Specializes in the history of strength and conditioning, doping, women and sport, and history of physical culture.

Jessica R Toste

Jessica R Toste

Associate Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
jrtoste@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 6551

Expertise: Focuses on effective interventions for students with and at-risk for reading disabilities, with a focus on intensifying intervention through data-based instruction and attention to motivational processes

Cara  Young

Cara Young

Associate Professor, School of Nursing
cyoung@mail.nur.utexas.edu

Expertise: Child and adolescent health; adolescent mental health promotion and prevention; mindfulness; mental health stigma; provision of primary health care