Browse by Subject


Search results for "mental health"

 


Ricardo C Ainslie

Ricardo C Ainslie

M. K. Hage Centennial Professor in Education, Counseling Psychology, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
rainslie@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0364, +1 512 471 4407

Expertise: Explores the intersection of psychology and culture through such topics as the psychological experience of immigration, ethnic conflicts and the impact of violence within communities, and the relationship between individual and collective identity. Is also interested in US-Mexico health, including addressing health disparities. <em>Note: Dr. Ainslie will not be taking new students for the 2023 academic year.</em>

Jacqueline L Angel

Jacqueline L Angel

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
jangel@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2956

Expertise: Hispanic health and demographics; aging policy; social policies with respect to diversity; long-term care; cultural diversity; ethnic studies

John  Bartholomew

John Bartholomew

Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, College of Education
jbart@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6021, +1 512 471 1273

Expertise: Researches the effect of exercise on mental health to improve mood and reduce stress.

Sarah Kate Bearman

Sarah Kate Bearman

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
skbearman@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Dr Bearman's research focuses on the effectiveness and implementation of empirically supported practices for common mental health concerns (anxiety, depression, PTSD, OCD, and disruptive behavior) in publicly-funded settings that serve historically underserved populations of children and families

Elisa V Borah

Elisa V Borah

Research Associate Professor, Office of the Associate Dean for Research
elisa.borah@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Military social work, mental health, treatment for PTSD, behavioral health, evidence-based interventions.

Chris Brownson

Chris Brownson

Clinical Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
cbrownson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 6990

Expertise: Research interests include college student mental health and suicide prevention, collaborative care models of behavioral health in primary care, and the intersection of mental health and academic success. <em>Note: Dr. Brownson will not be taking new students for the 2023 academic year.</em>

Esther  Calzada

Esther Calzada

Associate Dean, School of Social Work
esther.calzada@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Latino children, parenting, academic achievement, mental health, immigration, acculturation

Cindy I Carlson

Cindy I Carlson

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
ccarlson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4155

Expertise: Active in current healthcare reform endeavors, studies integrated behavioral health, attachment theory, and consultation theories and processes such as home-school partnership and family-centered treatment. <em>Cindy Carlson is not currently accepting new graduate students.</em>

Jane D Champion

Jane D Champion

Professor, School of Nursing
jdchampion@mail.nur.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8208

Expertise: STI/HIV, substance abuse, adolescent and womenÂ’s health, unintended pregnancy, interpersonal violence

Namkee  Choi

Namkee Choi

Professor, School of Social Work
nchoi@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9590

Expertise: Geriatric mental health, depression treatment in aging services, social policy for older adults.

Cynthia G Franklin

Cynthia G Franklin

Interim Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Social Work
cfranklin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0533

Expertise: School mental health, Solution-focused Brief Therapy, dropout prevention, at-risk youth, research on how to design schools that promote achievement and a safe, respectful and violent free culture.

Kristin A Garling

Kristin A Garling

Clinical Assistant Professor, College of Pharmacy
a.garling@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0861

Expertise: Healthcare communications, patient engagement, patient-centric communication, health solutions, public health, rural health education and advocacy, healthcare professional development, chronic disease, medication therapy management, health outcomes

Jennifer  Glass

Jennifer Glass

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
jennifer-glass@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8355

Expertise: Work and family issues, telecommuting and new labor practices, STEM labor force retention

Laurie B Green

Laurie B Green

Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
lbgreen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 736 1002

Expertise: Comparative Race Studies; African American Studies; Gender Studies; Working-Class History; Migration; Urban History; Poverty and Public Health; Social Movements; Political and Cultural History; Race Relations, Gender Issues

Carole K Holahan

Carole K Holahan

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
c.holahan@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Studies psychosocial factors in health behavior and health and well-being in adulthood and aging.

William R Kelly

William R Kelly

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
wkelly@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4142

Expertise: Criminal Justice/Criminology/Ecology of Crime, Program and Policy Research and Evaluation, Research Methodology and Statistics

Lara  Latimer

Lara Latimer

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
lara.a.latimer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7190

Expertise: Teaches from a holistic health perspective with a focus on personal health, including mental health, meditation and other stress management techniques.

William  Lawson

William Lawson

Professor Emeritus, Department of Psychiatry
william.lawson@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Mental Health, Violence and Mental Illness, Racial and Ethnic Issues in Mental Health, Mental Disorders, Substance Abuse, Ethnic Disparities in Care, Access to Care, Ethnic Issues in Pharmacotherapy

Molly A Lopez

Molly A Lopez

Research Associate Professor, Office of the Associate Dean for Research
mlopez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0614

Expertise: mental health services, evidence-based practice, trauma-informed care, cognitive behavioral therapies, workforce competency, systems of care.

Jennifer W Maedgen

Jennifer W Maedgen

Senior Associate Vice President, Office of the Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement
maedgen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2910

Arthur B Markman

Arthur B Markman

Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, Extended Education Ventures
markman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4645

Expertise: Similarity, Analogical Reasoning and Analogical Problem Solving, Decision Making , Consumer Behavior, Motivation and Preference, Category Use and Category Learning, Taxonomic Hierarchies and Conceptual Combination, Symbolic and Connectionist models of Analogy, Similarity and Categorization, Knowledge Representation and Causal Mental Models

Charles B Nemeroff

Charles B Nemeroff

The Matthew P. Nemeroff Endowed Chair, Dell Medical School
cnemeroff@austin.utexas.edu

Todd A Olmstead

Todd A Olmstead

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
tolmstead@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8456

Expertise: Healthcare Policy, Healthcare, Health Economics, Health Services Research

Sarah J Rehnborg

A&P Hourly Employment, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
rehnborg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7062, +1 512 475 7616

Expertise: Non-Profit Management, Civil society, Education Policy

Pedro  Reyes

Pedro Reyes

Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy, College of Education
preyes@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8569
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: I study student success for children experiencing poverty. I analyze how school leadership and state policy facilitate student success across the education pipeline.

Aaron B Rochlen

Aaron B Rochlen

Clinical Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
arochlen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0361, +1 512 471 4409

Expertise: Research focuses on men and traditional masculinity, with a particular emphasis on men's mental health, depression, help-seeking patterns, and their underutilization of counseling services. <em>Note: Dr. Rochlen will not be taking new students for the 2023 academic year.</em>

Erin M Rodriguez

Erin M Rodriguez

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
erodriguez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0283
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Dr. Erin Rodríguez studies family, sociocultural, and contextual influences on childrenÂ’s development and health outcomes, with a focus on understanding and reducing health disparities affecting low-SES Latinx youth.

David W Springer

David W Springer

Director, RGK Center for Philanthropy and Community Service, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
dwspringer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0512

Expertise: Juvenile justice system reform, community-based services with youth, criminal justice, community-based participatory research

Mary A Steinhardt

Mary A Steinhardt

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
msteinhardt@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3535

Expertise: Focuses on how individuals successfully adapt to stress and build health resilience.

Patricia A Stout

Patricia A Stout

John P. McGovern Regents Professor Emerita in Health and Medical Science in Communication, Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations, Moody College of Communication
patstouttx@gmail.com

Expertise: Advertising copy research and consumer behavior; emotional response to advertising; health communications and social marketing issues; business. Health communication, including HIV/AIDS, immunization, and obesity.

Steve Strakowski

Steve Strakowski

Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Department of Psychiatry
steve.strakowski@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5047

Expertise: Mental Health, Psychiatry

Hirofumi  Tanaka

Hirofumi Tanaka

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
htanaka@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4801

Expertise: Effects of vascular dysfunction due to aging, and the lifestyle habits that can prevent or reverse dysfunction. Role of peripheral vascular dysfunction in the pathogenesis of cognitive and cerebrovascular dysfunction Reduction in physiological functional capacity with advancing age Community-based studies in minority cardiovascular health Masters athletes as a model of successful aging Health benefits of swimming

Michael J Telch

Michael J Telch

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
telch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3393, +1 512 475 8488, +1 512 560 4100

Expertise: Agrophobia; Anxiety and phobic disorders; Behavioral medicine; Behavioral therapies; Cognitive processes of behavior change; Therapy outcome evaluation

Debra J Umberson

Debra J Umberson

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
umberson@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6330

Expertise: Population Health ( Structural Determinants of Mental and Physical Health; Stress and Social Support; Health Behavior; Health Disparities; Sexual Minority Health); Family and Gender (Gender and Relationships; Same-Sex Couples; Marital Status and Health; Relationship Quality and Health; Family Status and Health; Intergenerational Relationships; Family and Bereavement); Aging and the Life Course (Psychosocial Epidemiology across the Life Course; Aging and the Family; Death and Dying; Marriage and Intimate Partnerships).

David C Warner

David C Warner

Professor Emeritus, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
david.warner@utexas.edu

Expertise: Health policy; health finance; diabetes costs; border health; health insurance; mental health policy; Mexican health system; business, economics & labor.

Patrick P Wong

Patrick P Wong

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
patwong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8962

Expertise: social policy, family and child welfare, children services, mental health, poverty issues, housing, community development

Cara  Young

Cara Young

Associate Professor, School of Nursing
cyoung@mail.nur.utexas.edu

Expertise: Child and adolescent health; adolescent mental health promotion and prevention; mindfulness; mental health stigma; provision of primary health care

Luis H Zayas

Luis H Zayas

Professor, School of Social Work
lzayas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1937
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Latino adolescents, suicide prevention, child and adolescent mental health, culturally competent interventions, immigration, minorities