College of Fine Arts Experts


Nanette  Acosta

Nanette Acosta

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
nanette.acosta@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0641, +1 512 471 0642

Expertise: costumes, costume design, undergraduate teaching, recruitment, theatrical design, theatre design, film design

Charles O Anderson

Charles O Anderson

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
charles.o.anderson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 215 983 6383

Expertise: African Diaspora and African American (Black) vernacular and concert dance history, Black dance aesthetics, Afrocentric dance pedagogy, choreography and dance composition, contemporary dance, Afrofuturism, critical race theory in dance, dance, history, ethnic studies.

Andree H Bober

Andree H Bober

Director, Landmarks Public Art Program, College of Fine Arts
abober@landmarksut.org
+1 512 415 7392, +1 512 495 4315

Expertise: art museums, museum administration, arts administration, museum directorship, museum studies, contemporary art, public art, art in public spaces, collections, collections management, UT special collections

Chelsea  Burns

Chelsea Burns

Assistant Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
cburns@austin.utexas.edu
+1 312 912 1003

Expertise: Latin American music, country music, bluegrass music, Heitor Villa-Lobos, Carlos Chávez, Silvestre Revueltas, Francisco Mignone

Laquetta L Carpenter

Laquetta L Carpenter

Assistant Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
quetta.carpenter@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Acting, stage acting, television acting, film acting, Shakespeare, directing, adaptation

Kate  Catterall

Kate Catterall

Associate Professor, School of Design and Creative Technologies, College of Fine Arts
katecat@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0902

Expertise: History and theory of design; furniture and product design

Eddie  Chambers

Eddie Chambers

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
eddiechambers@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2474

Expertise: African Diaspora Art

Michael J Charlesworth

Michael J Charlesworth

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
mick@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2345

Expertise: History of landscape gardens, Nineteenth Century European Art, History of Photography, Life and works of Derek Jarman

Daniel  Ching

Daniel Ching

Associate Professor of Practice, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
dching@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2093

Expertise: classical music, chamber music, string quartet, chamber music coaching, violin teacher, string pedagogy

John R Clarke

John R Clarke

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
j.clarke@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2355

Expertise: Ancient Greek and Roman art and architecture; classical archaeology; digital modeling; contemporary art and criticism; gender studies; art-historical methodology; cultural studies

Eric A Drott

Eric A Drott

Associate Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
drott@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3478

Expertise: contemporary music culture, music streaming, digital music, music and protest, the political economy of music, avant-garde music

Robert A Duke

Robert A Duke

Marlene and Morton Meyerson Centennial Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
bobduke@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0972

Expertise: Human learning and behavior; procedural memory consolidation; skill learning

Veit F Erlmann

Veit F Erlmann

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
erlmann@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2092

Expertise: Ethnomusicology; African culture

James  Gabrillo

James Gabrillo

Assistant Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
james.gabrillo@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: pop music, digital technologies, film and television, multimedia, Philippines

Joshua T Gindele

Joshua T Gindele

Associate Professor of Practice, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
jgindele@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1526

Expertise: Classical music, Chamber music, String quartet, Media relations, PR, Record production

Carma R Gorman

Carma R Gorman

Associate Professor, School of Design and Creative Technologies, College of Fine Arts
cgorman@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0901

Julia Guernsey

Julia Guernsey

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
j.guernsey@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5850, +1 512 471 7757

Expertise: Olmec and Maya art, architecture, and material culture; ancient Mesoamerican art, themes, iconography, and ritual associations.

Linda D Henderson

Linda D Henderson

Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
dnehl@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: 20th-century European and American art to 1950; the relation of art to science and technology (particularly in the first half of the 20th century); modernism in its cultural context, including science and occultism; Marcel Duchamp; the "fourth dimension" in 20th-century culture

Megan L Hildebrandt

Megan L Hildebrandt

Associate Professor of Practice, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
megan.hildebrandt@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: contemporary art, foundations art pedagogy, drawing, artist mothers, arts-in-healthcare, community-based art practices

Martha F Hilley

Martha F Hilley

Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
mfhilley@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Group piano; piano pedagogy; career goals and management; dedicated web sites created for both non-music major and music major group piano classes.

Judith Jellison

Judith Jellison

Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
jjellison@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Elementary music education; music and children with disabilities; observation and evaluation in classroom/rehearsals; music in special education and therapy

Jerry F Junkin

Jerry F Junkin

Director (0379), Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
jfjunkin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4093

Expertise: classical music, wind ensemble/band music, conducting, band programs

Yuliya  Lanina

Yuliya Lanina

Assistant Professor of Practice, College of Fine Arts
yuliya.lanina@utexas.edu

Expertise: contemporary art, interdisciplinary, experimental animation, cross-disciplinary collaboration, art and technology, art and performance

John C Largess

John C Largess

Associate Professor of Practice, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
jlargess@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9540

Expertise: string quartet, classical music, performance, chamber music, coaching, Ludwig van Beethoven

Janice  Leoshko

Janice Leoshko

Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
jleoshko@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2581

Expertise: Asian art history; Asian culture; Indian and Tibetan religions, Arts & Humanities.

Brian D Lewis

Brian D Lewis

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
blviolin@utexas.edu

Expertise: Violin

Beili  Liu

Beili Liu

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
beili@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6071

Expertise: Visual art, contemporary art, installation art, sculpture, fiber art, performance art, public art, feminist art, craft, contemporary Asian-American art, contemporary Chinese-American art, Diaspora art, Asian Diaspora

Alison  Maggart

Alison Maggart

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
alison.maggart@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: western art music of the United States, academic music, serialism/formalism, Cold War culture, New Age, sound and meditation

Robin D Moore

Robin D Moore

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
robin.moore@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0373, +1 512 471 7764

Expertise: His principal research interests include music, nationalism and socialism, historical ethnomusicology,music and race relations,popular music and socialist art aesthetics.

Stephennie  Mulder

Stephennie Mulder

Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
smulder@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5851

Expertise: Islamic Art and Architecture, Syria, Egypt, Turkey

Guido  Olivieri

Guido Olivieri

Professor of Instruction, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
olivieri@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8015

Expertise: 18th-century music, performance practice, archival studies, history of pedagogy, music and powers in 18th-century Europe

Susan W Rather

Susan W Rather

Department Chair, Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
rather@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3390

Expertise: American Art, early American art, British Colonial American artists and artisans, portraiture, self-portraiture, Benjamin West, John Singleton Copley, Gilbert Stuart, William Williams, Samuel F. D. Morse, Paul Manship, early 20th-century sculpture

KJ  Sanchez

KJ Sanchez

Associate Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
kjsanchez@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Theatre, Directing, Playwriting, Producer, Choreography, Documentary Theatre

Julie  Schell

Julie Schell

Assistant Dean, Instructional Continuity and Innovation, College of Fine Arts
julie.schell@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1772

Expertise: College teaching and learning, online teaching and learning, online education, higher education, postsecondary education, distance education, remote learning, virtual learning, technology and education, design pedagogy, design education, design thinking, learning design, the science of learning

Sonia T Seeman

Sonia T Seeman

Associate Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
stseeman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2854

Expertise: world music; Romani ("Gypsy") communities; Southeastern Europe, Turkish, Former Ottoman culture and music; inclusive pedagogy; neighborhood/grassroots activism; culture of diasporic commmunities; migration

Richard Shiff

Richard Shiff

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
rshiff@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7547, +1 512 471 7757

Expertise: History of art, 19th and 20th centuries and contemporary, art theory, criticism

Jeffrey C Smith

Jeffrey C Smith

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
chipps@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2609

Expertise: Expertise: Art history; culture of Northern Europe 1350-1700, Arts & Humanities.

Matthew R Smith

Matthew R Smith

Assistant Professor of Practice, College of Fine Arts
matt.smith@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5327

Expertise: Lighting, Projection, Design, 3D Projection Mapping

MacKenzie  Stevens

MacKenzie Stevens

Gallery Director-Curator, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
mstevens@utvac.org
+1 512 471 3398

Expertise: art museums, art galleries, curatorial studies, curatorial practice, arts marketing, museum administration, arts administration, museum directorship, museum studies, contemporary art, public art, art history, art in public spaces, collections

Darlene C Wiley

Darlene C Wiley

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
dwiley@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7764

Expertise: Voice; German; vocal pedagogy, Arts & Humanities.

Holly A Williams

Holly A Williams

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
hollywilliams@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5330

Expertise: Dance in Higher Education, Dance Training, Contemporary Choreography, Dance Criticism, American College Dance Festival Association, Mark Morris Dance Group, Arts in Higher Education