Browse by Subject


Search results for "africa"

 


Kamran  Ali

Kamran Ali

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
asdar@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7531, +1 512 471 3550

Expertise: Gender; health; development; labor history; political movements (including Islamic groups); Political Economy; post-colonialism; urban social histories, popular culture; historiography; memory; liberalism; Middle East; South Asia

Shannon E Cavanagh

Shannon E Cavanagh

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
scavanagh@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8319

Expertise: Family Demography, Life Course & Human Development, Gender, Interpersonal Relationships

Mounira M Charrad

Mounira M Charrad

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
charrad@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6311, +1 512 232 6300

Expertise: Political Sociology; State Formation; Social Movements; Gender and Women's Rights; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Middle East and North Africa

Kerry H Cook

Kerry H Cook

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences
kc@jsg.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7931

Expertise: Climate dynamics, atmospheric dynamics, global climate change, paleoclimate, climate and weather of Africa and South America, climate system modeling, climate change in Texas

James R Denbow

James R Denbow

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
jdenbow@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8512

Expertise: Archaeology; ethnoarchaeology; rock art; Later Stone Age and Iron Age studies in Southern and Central Africa; African history; African cultures; African languages; Kalahari desert; Congo prehistory; African Iron Age and Neolithic studies

Steven  Dietz

Steven Dietz

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
sjdietz@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5311

Expertise: Playwriting, Directing, New Play Development, Adaptation, Theatre for Youth

Veit F Erlmann

Veit F Erlmann

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
erlmann@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2092

Expertise: Ethnomusicology; African culture

William E Forbath

William E Forbath

Professor, Department of History, School of Law
wforbath@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1326

Expertise: Constitutional law, legal history, social and economic rights in courts, social movements of Africa, Texas low-income housing

Jim V Hoffman

Jim V Hoffman

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
jhoffman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4041

Expertise: My interests focus on three areas: (1) Teacher preparation, (2) The classroom literacy environment, and (3) Promoting literacy achievement in developing countries. Methods: Descriptive, correlational, experimental, content analysis, program evaluation.

John W Kappelman

John W Kappelman

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
jkappelman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0055

Expertise: Evolutionary history of primates and especially hominoid evolution and hominid origins, paleoecology, functional morphology, stratigraphy, paleomagnetism, and computer imaging

Cristine H Legare

Cristine H Legare

Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
legare@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 468 8238

Expertise: Cognitive development, cultural learning, cognitive evolution, cognitive science, social cognition, children's learning, social learning, science education, biological education, evolution; ritual, religious cognition, science and religion

Vijay  Mahajan

Vijay Mahajan

Professor, Department of Marketing, Red McCombs School of Business
vijay.mahajan@mccombs.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1128, +1 512 471 0840

Expertise: Product diffusion; marketing strategy; marketing research methodologies; business.

Paula R Newberg

Paula R Newberg

Clinical Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
pnewberg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7270

Expertise: human rights; democratic governance and foreign policy in crisis and transition states

Timothy M Shanahan

Timothy M Shanahan

Associate Professor, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences
tshanahan@jsg.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7051

Expertise: Paleoclimatology, paleoceanography, paleolimnology, sedimentary geology and geochemistry, organic geochemistry, isotope geochemistry, compound-specific stable isotope analysis

Denise A Spellberg

Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
spellberg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7202

Expertise: Medieval Islamic history, religion, and gender, Islamic historiography, and Islam in Europe and America.

Bill  Tierney

Bill Tierney

Professor of Population Health, Department of Population Health, Dell Medical School
tierney@utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5006

Alexander A Weinreb

Alexander A Weinreb

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
aweinreb@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0437

Expertise: Social and political demography, data collection methods

Kristopher  Wilson

Kristopher Wilson

Senior Lecturer, School of Journalism, College of Communication
kris.wilson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4975

Expertise: Environmental Journalism, Climate Change, Global Warming, Weather, Broadcast News, Media Convergence