Browse by Subject


Search results for "media and politics"

 


Ari  Adut

Ari Adut

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
ariadut@mail.la.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4284

Expertise: Comparative and Historical Sociology; Social Theory; Political Sociology; Media and the Public Sphere Sociology of Culture; Sociology of Law; Sociology of Emotions; Western Europe; Middle East; Qualitative and Historical Methods; Sociology.

Kamran  Ali

Kamran Ali

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
asdar@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3550, +1 512 471 7531

Expertise: Gender; health; development; labor history; political movements (including Islamic groups); Political Economy; post-colonialism; urban social histories, popular culture; historiography; memory; liberalism; Middle East; South Asia

Bruce  Buchanan

Bruce Buchanan

Professor Emeritus, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
bruceb@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Presidential politics; presidential character; the presidency and the public; American politics; public policy; political behavior

Mounira M Charrad

Mounira M Charrad

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
charrad@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6300, +1 512 232 6311

Expertise: Political Sociology; State Formation; Social Movements; Gender and Women's Rights; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Middle East and North Africa; gender issues

Tracy S Dahlby

Tracy S Dahlby

Professor, School of Journalism, Moody College of Communication
tracy.dahlby@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6272

Expertise: Journalism and media criticism; coverage of international affairs, including Northeast and Southeast Asia; coverage of U.S. relations with Asia.

Noah  De Lissovoy

Noah De Lissovoy

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
delissovoy@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1954
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Examines effects of race, class and capital in schools and society; investigates and extends traditions of critical pedagogy and philosophy.

Zachary S Elkins

Zachary S Elkins

Associate Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
zelkins@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7250

Expertise: national constitutions, democracy, institutional reform, research methods, and national identity, with an emphasis on cases in Latin America

Glenn C Frankel

Journalism Affiliates, School of Journalism, Moody College of Communication
glenn.frankel@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1845

Expertise: Journalism and media coverage of contemporary issues, the Arab-Israeli conflict, the apartheid era, British politics and culture.

Daniel S Hamermesh

Daniel S Hamermesh

Professor Emeritus, Department of Economics, College of Liberal Arts
hamermes@eco.utexas.edu

Expertise: Labor demand, time use, social insurance programs (particularly unemployment insurance) and unusual applications of labor economics (to suicide, sleep and beauty)Labor markets; unemployment; wages inequality; Social Security; demographic issues, business.

Roderick P Hart

Roderick P Hart

Professor, Department of Communication Studies, Moody College of Communication
rod.hart@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1956

Expertise: Media and politics; civic participation; political campaigns; political rhetoric

James R Henson

James R Henson

Director of Communication Strategy and Director of the Texas Politics Project, College of Liberal Arts
j.henson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0090

Expertise: Texas politics; presidential elections; Internet and politics; political campaigns; Texas Politics Project

John M Hoberman

John M Hoberman

Professor, Department of Germanic Studies, College of Liberal Arts
hoberman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6368

Expertise: European cultural and intellectual history with special interests in Sportwissenschaft and the history of ideas about race; Scandinavian studies; Norwegian language instruction; history of Jewish racial folklore; Olympics; Sports doping; race relations

Aletha C Huston

Aletha C Huston

Professor Emeritus, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
achuston@utexas.edu

Expertise: Child Development; poverty and child policy; child care; television influences on children

Alberto A Martinez

Alberto A Martinez

Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
almartinez@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: History of science and math, Einstein, historical myths in science, notions of race, political news media.

Tolga  Ozyurtcu

Tolga Ozyurtcu

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
tolga@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6018
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Studies the historical, philosophical, sociocultural, and political dimensions of sport and physical culture.

David F Prindle

David F Prindle

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
dprindle@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7214

Expertise: American politics, including elections, Congress, the Presidency; the politics of truth and deception; the politics of evolution

Cinthia S Salinas

Cinthia S Salinas

Department Chair, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
cssalinas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3539

Expertise: Research focuses on bilingual and ESL education, high-stakes social studies testing, and activism in education.

Paul J Stekler

Paul J Stekler

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
paul.stekler@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6679

Expertise: Politics, Southern politics, political campaigns, political advertising and how polls affect campaigns and campaign messaging; documentary filmmaking

Pauline T Strong

Pauline T Strong

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
pstrong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8524, +1 512 471 9056

Expertise: Cultural, historical, feminist anthropology; Identity and difference; Politics of representation; Public culture; Youth organizations; Museum studies; Public humanities; Medical humanities; US, Indigenous North America.

Natalie J Stroud

Natalie J Stroud

Associate Professor, Department of Communication Studies, Moody College of Communication
tstroud@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1934

Expertise: Political behavior, partisan media use, political communication, public opinion, political research.

Craig C Watkins

Craig C Watkins

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
craig.watkins@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4071, +1 512 471 6676

Expertise: Race and pop culture; Youth culture; digital media and social media; hip-hop culture and music; video games; the history of Black American Cinema and the films of Spike Lee