Browse by Subject


Search results for "american presidency"

 


Kamran  Ali

Kamran Ali

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
asdar@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3550, +1 512 471 7531

Expertise: Gender; health; development; labor history; political movements (including Islamic groups); Political Economy; post-colonialism; urban social histories, popular culture; historiography; memory; liberalism; Middle East; South Asia

Mark B Baker

Mark B Baker

Associate Professor Emeritus, Department of Information, Risk, and Operations Management, Red McCombs School of Business
m.baker@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Multinational corporate law; international trade law; legal aspects of terrorism; international law; business.

Allen J Bard

Allen J Bard

Professor, Department of Chemistry, College of Natural Sciences
ajbard@cm.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3761

Expertise: Using electrochemistry to elucidate the behavior and properties of novel organic and inorganic species; interaction of light and electrochemical systems; utilization of light in photoelectrochemical cells with semiconductor electrodes or particles for the generation of electricity and chemicals.

Henry W Brands

Henry W Brands

Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
hwbrands@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3261

Expertise: U.S. history; American presidents; Franklin Roosevelt; Andrew Jackson; Woodrow Wilson; Benjamin Franklin; the Cold War.

Chris Brownson

Chris Brownson

Associate VP for Student Affairs, CMHC Director
cbrownson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 6990

Expertise: Experienced school finance administrator who focuses on ways state aid systems and school district budget practices can be improved to best leverage resources toward improving services for students.

Bruce  Buchanan

Bruce Buchanan

Professor Emeritus, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
bruceb@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Presidential politics; presidential character; the presidency and the public; American politics; public policy; political behavior

Charlotte  Canning

Charlotte Canning

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
charlottecanning@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5793

Expertise: US theatre history, Broadway, Arthur Miller, Tennessee Williams, historiography, feminist theatre, theatre and American society, historical entertainment industry.

Michael J Cramer

Michael J Cramer

Senior Fellow, Department of Communication Studies, Moody College of Communication
michael.cramer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2430

Expertise: Sports and impact on American culture, sports and media, the business of sports, collective bargaining, mega-stadiums and revenue enhancement

Robert  Crosnoe

Robert Crosnoe

Department Chair, Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
crosnoe@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8329

Expertise: Life Course & Human Development, Children & Youth, Education, Health, Family, Immigration, Adolescents.

John A Daly

John A Daly

Professor, Department of Communication Studies, Moody College of Communication
daly@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1948, +1 512 471 5251

Expertise: Communication effectiveness; customer service and loyalty; advocacy (persuasion and influence); presentation skills; leadership and teamwork; crisis communication

Andrea Delong-Amaya

Director of Horticulture, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, School of Architecture
adelongamaya@wildflower.org
+1 512 232 0114

Expertise: Native plants; horticulture; garden design

Robert A Divine

Professor Emeritus, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
rdivine@austin.rr.com

Expertise: Twentieth century American foreign policy; history of the American presidency

Edwin  Dorn

Edwin Dorn

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
eddorn@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4007

Expertise: International affairs; national security/ defense policy; human resources policy (especially military personnel); civil rights/ race relations; policy making (especially the executive branch); federal education policy; African politics, business

Toni Falbo

Toni Falbo

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
toni@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0603, +1 512 471 8020

Expertise: Studies the outcomes of sibling status on human development and educational attainment, and examines the effects of China's one-child policy on the personalities of Chinese children and adults.

William L Fisher

William L Fisher

Faculty Affiliate, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences
wfisher@jsg.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5600

Expertise: Basin analysis, sequence stratigraphy, depositional systems, petroleum geology, resource assessment, energy policy

Wallace T Fowler

Wallace T Fowler

Professor and Paul D.& Betty Robertson Meek Centennial Professorship in Engineering & Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, Cockrell School of Engineering
wallace.fowler@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4257, +1 512 471 6913

Expertise: Spacecraft and Mission Design; Aircraft Design; Vehicle Modeling; Lunar and Planetary Exploration Systems; Multimedia Engineering Education

David W Fowler

David W Fowler

Professor and T.U. Taylor Professorship in Engineering; Joe J. King Chair of Engineering No. 2; Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
dwf@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2575, +1 512 471 4563

Expertise: Polymer-concrete materials; Structural building systems in wood and reinforced concrete; Concrete aggregates

James K Galbraith

James K Galbraith

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
galbraith@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1244

Expertise: Macroeconomic policy; monetary policy, economic development policies; comparative economic policy; economic inequality

Thomas J Garza

Thomas J Garza

Associate Professor, Department of Slavic and Eurasian Studies, College of Liberal Arts
tjgarza@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9126, +1 512 471 3607

Expertise: Russian language teaching methodology; Applied linguistics; Contemporary Russian culture; The Chechen wars and the media; Post-Soviet youth culture; Language teaching pedagogy; Russian popular culture; Modern Russian language; Contemporary Russian media; Masculinity Studies; Mexican/Latino masculinity; Soviet/Russian masculinity

George W Gau

George W Gau

Professor Emeritus, Department of Finance, Red McCombs School of Business
george.gau@mccombs.utexas.edu

Expertise: Real estate finance; real estate investment; real estate markets; business, economics & labor.

Jennifer  Glass

Jennifer Glass

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
jennifer-glass@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8355

Expertise: Work and family issues, telecommuting and new labor practices, STEM labor force retention

Earnest F Gloyna

Earnest F Gloyna

Dean Emeritus, Cockrell School of Engineering
e.gloyna@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Industrial waste treatment; municipal wastewater treatment; water quality management; radioactive waste management

Carma R Gorman

Carma R Gorman

Associate Professor, School of Design and Creative Technologies
cgorman@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0901, +1 512 471 3382

Expertise: History of American industrial design; US intellectual property law pertaining to design; evaluation/criticism of design; Henry Sargent (1770-1845).

David B Gracy

David B Gracy

Professor Emeritus, School of Information
gracy@ischool.utexas.edu

Expertise: Archival administration, records management, preservation administration; issues relating to broad domain of documentary heritage of civilization; Texas history (various periods)

Mark D Hayward

Mark D Hayward

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
mhayward@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8382

Expertise: Population and Life Course and Aging, Morbidity and Mortality, and Biodemography, Social Epidemiology, Quantitative Methods and Dynamic Models, Life Table Techniques, Death and Dying

Robert E Hebner

Robert E Hebner

Director, Center for Electromechanics, Cockrell School of Engineering
r.hebner@cem.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1628

Expertise: Microgrid performance; electrical process in algal biofuels production; electrical insulation; Electricity generation and storage; space power; electric energy; standards; technology policy; university-industry-government collaboration in technology; technology and economic development; electric guns; hybrid electric vehicles; electric locomotives; flywheel batteries; electric generators and motors; high voltage; environment & earth science.

Carolyn  Heinrich

Carolyn Heinrich

Research Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
cheinrich@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3779

Expertise: Healthcare Policy, Education Policy, Healthcare, Social Policy

James V Hoffman

James V Hoffman

Priscilla Pond Flawn Regents Professor in Early Childhood Education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
jhoffman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4041

Expertise: Focuses on teacher preparation, the classroom literacy environment and promoting literacy in developing countries.

Barbara F Immroth

Professor Emeritus, School of Information
immroth@ischool.utexas.edu

Expertise: Children's literature; intellectual freedom; public library service for children; school libraries

William  Inboden

William Inboden

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
inboden@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2411, +1 512 471 2601

Expertise: National Security, Foreign Policy

Coleman A Jennings

Coleman A Jennings

Professor Emeritus, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
jennings.lola@gmail.com

Expertise: drama and theatre for children and youth, liaison with New York creative teams in developmental of Broadway musicals

James O Jirsa

James O Jirsa

Professor and Janet S. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering, Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
jirsa@utexas.edu

Expertise: Design and behavior of reinforced concrete structures; Earthquake engineering; Repair and rehabilitation of structures

Manuel J Justiz

Manuel J Justiz

Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy, College of Education
mjustiz@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1695

Expertise: Bringing the experience of 28 years as dean of the College of Education, Justiz shares his expertise in topics of public policy, the politics of education, and providing equal access for minorities in education.

Jill A Marshall

Jill A Marshall

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
marshall@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9685

Expertise: Teaches courses for pre-service in STEM subjects and explores student understanding of mathematical and physical models.

Richard P Meier

Richard P Meier

Department Chair, Linguistics, College of Liberal Arts
rmeier@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1701, +1 512 471 9031

Expertise: Child language development; sign languages; American Sign Language; acquisition of American Sign language by deaf children

Leonard N Moore

Leonard N Moore

Vice President for Diversity and Community Engagement
leonardmoore@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3212

Expertise: Modern African American History; black urban history; intersection of race, sport, and hip-hop

Sharon  Mosher

Sharon Mosher

Dean, Jackson School of Geosciences, Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost
smosher@jsg.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6048

Expertise: Structural petrology, field-oriented structural geology, the evolution of complexly deformed terranes, strain analysis, deformation mechanisms, the interaction between chemical and physical processes during deformation

Raymond L Orbach

Raymond L Orbach

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
orbach@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0204

Expertise: Complex systems/non-linear dynamics; Transport in random media;

David F Prindle

David F Prindle

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
dprindle@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7214

Expertise: American politics, including elections, Congress, the Presidency; the politics of truth and deception; the politics of evolution

Soncia  Reagins-Lilly

Soncia Reagins-Lilly

Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
soncia.r.lilly@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1133

Expertise: Shares her expertise in higher education policy, administration and finance, strategic planning, and leadership development as the Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students.

Pedro  Reyes

Pedro Reyes

Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy, College of Education
preyes@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8569
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Focuses on school conditions that foster high academic success for children of poverty, stratification of learning opportunities for children of color, and on state policy that facilitates student success across the education pipeline.

Beryl B Simpson

Beryl B Simpson

Professor Emeritus, Department of Integrative Biology, College of Natural Sciences
beryl@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Systematics of angiosperms; plant-pollinator interactions; ethnobotany

Philip R Stanforth

Philip R Stanforth

Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
p.stanforth@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0081, +1 512 475 9694

Expertise: As the Executive Director of the Fitness Institute of Texas, trains students on the techniques of fitness assessment.

Laura T Starks

Laura T Starks

Professor, Department of Finance, Red McCombs School of Business
laura.starks@mccombs.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5899

Expertise: Institutional investors and financial markets; institutional investor shareholder activism; portfolio manager incentives; CEO turnover

Michael B Stoff

Michael B Stoff

Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
mbstoff@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1442, +1 512 475 7217

Expertise: American history; World War II;

Pauline T Strong

Pauline T Strong

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
pstrong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8524, +1 512 471 9056

Expertise: Cultural, historical, feminist anthropology; Identity and difference; Politics of representation; Public culture; Youth organizations; Museum studies; Public humanities; Medical humanities; US, Indigenous North America.

Robert L Talbert

Robert L Talbert

Professor Emeritus, College of Pharmacy
talbert@uthscsa.edu

Expertise: Cardiovascular therapeutics, stroke prevention and treatment, clinical trial design and evaluation, lipid disorders

Bill  Tierney

Bill Tierney

Department Chair, Population Health, Dell Medical School
tierney@utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5006

Expertise: Population Health, Health Promotion, Disease Prevention, Medical Informatics, Big Data, Data Analytics/Epidemiology, New Models of Care, General Internal Medicine, Primary Care, Hospital Medicine, Health Services/Systems Research, Global Health

Scott W Tinker

Scott W Tinker

Director (0379), John A and Katherine G Jackson School of Geosciences
scott.tinker@beg.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0209, +1 512 471 1534

Expertise: Global energy supply and demand, Technology Administration, Multidisciplinary reservoir characterization, Carbonate sedimentology, Sequence stratigraphy, 3-D reservoir modeling, Resource assessment.

Janice (Jan) S Todd

Janice (Jan) S Todd

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
j.todd@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0993, +1 512 471 0995

Expertise: Specializes in the history of strength and conditioning, doping, women and sport, and physical culture; directs the Ph.D. program in Physical Culture and Sport Studies and the Masters program in Sport Management.

Philip U Treisman

Philip U Treisman

Professor, Department of Mathematics, College of Natural Sciences
uri@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2271, +1 512 471 6190

Expertise: Education Policy; mathematics education; economics of education; educational equity; education program design and evaluation volunteerism

Eric M Warr

Eric M Warr

Professor Emeritus, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
mwarr@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Criminology, peer influence and social reactions to crime, fear of crime in family households

John C Wheeler

John C Wheeler

Professor, Department of Astronomy, College of Natural Sciences
wheel@astro.as.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6407

Expertise: Astronomy; Stars and stellar evolution; supernovae; compact stars, neutron stars and black holes; accretion disks; nucleosynthesis; gamma-ray bursts, astrobiology

Holly A Williams

Holly A Williams

Senior Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Accreditation, College of Fine Arts
hwdnce@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5330

Expertise: Dance in Higher Education, Dance Training, Contemporary Choreography, Dance Criticism, American College Dance Festival Association, Mark Morris Dance Group

Carlton G Willson

Carlton G Willson

Professor and Rashid Engineering Regents Chair, Department of Chemical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
willson@che.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4342

Expertise: Polymers, materials, and processes for microelectronics; Photoresists; Liquid crystals; Computer simulation; Mass transport studies; Kinetics; Graft polymerization; Biosensor arrays; Novel processes for producing nanometer scale structures

Linda H Yoder

Linda H Yoder

Professor, School of Nursing
lyoder@mail.nur.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7938

Expertise: Veteran-related issues, oncology, evidence-based practice, career development relationships, and health services systems

Amy  Young

Amy Young

Chief Clinical Officer, Vice Dean of Professional Practice, Dell Medical School
amyyoung@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Women's Health