Browse by Subject


Search results for "literacy"

 


Randy  Bomer

Randy Bomer

Department Chair (Interim), Department of Educational Administration, College of Education
bomer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7519, +1 512 232 4861

Expertise: Writing; politics of literacy; sociocultural theory; curricula in reading and writing

Jerome F Bump

Jerome F Bump

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
bump@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8747

Expertise: Gerard Manley Hopkins; Alice books; Victorian literature; literature of nature; animal humanities; digital humanities; computers and English studies, including social networking and multi-player online games

Rebecca M Callahan

Rebecca M Callahan

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
callahan@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8347

Expertise: Bilingual Education, immigrant adolescents' academic preparation, language minority students and students identified with learning disabilities in the STEM pipeline, language policy in education, immigrant adolescents' civic development, the transition to young adulthood among immigrants.

Darla M Castelli

Darla M Castelli

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
dcastelli@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7636

Expertise: Dr. Castelli studies the effects of physical activity on motor and cognitive performance in school-aged children and emerging adults. She is also interested in the relationship between metabolic risk factors and cognition and how physical activity can reverse its effects.

North A Cooc

North A Cooc

Assistant Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
ncooc@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7923

Expertise: Racial disproportionality, quantitative research methods, Asian Americans in education, summer literacy interventions, culture and diversity

Bonnie M Elliott

Bonnie M Elliott

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
belliott@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5195

Jim V Hoffman

Jim V Hoffman

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
jhoffman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4041

Expertise: My interests focus on three areas: (1) Teacher preparation, (2) The classroom literacy environment, and (3) Promoting literacy achievement in developing countries. Methods: Descriptive, correlational, experimental, content analysis, program evaluation.

Elaine K Horwitz

Elaine K Horwitz

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
horwitz@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4108, +1 512 232 4080

Expertise: Foreign language anxiety; learner beliefs about language learning, language learning strategies

Deborah C Kelt

Deborah C Kelt

Lecturer, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
dkelt@utexas.edu

Min  Liu

Min Liu

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
mliu@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5942, +1 512 232 6248

Expertise: Design and development of learner-centered environments with new media and emerging technologies; Developing technology enabled cognitive tools to support higher-level thinking skills; Problem-based and Project based learning; Game-based learning; Instructional design; Online Instruction; Second language learning

Michael S Mackert

Michael S Mackert

Associate Professor, Department of Advertising, College of Communication
mackert@utexas.edu

Expertise: Telemedicine, health communication, health literacy and online communities.

Beth Maloch

Beth Maloch

Assoc Dean for Teacher Education, Student Affairs and Admin, College of Education
bmaloch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3476

Expertise: Teacher education; Literature discussion; Informational texts in primary classrooms; Classroom discourse

Daron K Roberts

Daron K Roberts

Founding Director, Center for Sports Leadership and Innovation, Center for Sports Leadership and Innovation
daronroberts@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2320

Expertise: Roberts leads the effort at UT Austin to help young male and female athletes succeed on and off the field as responsible citizens.

Loriene  Roy

Loriene Roy

Professor, School of Information
loriene@ischool.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3959

Expertise: Library development in Native American communities; creation of virtual museums of Native American artifacts; literacy efforts in Native American communities; library collection development and evaluation; oral tradition; organizing gatherings of indigenous librarians worldwide

Cinthia S Salinas

Cinthia S Salinas

Department Chair, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
cssalinas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3539

Expertise: Historical thinking and citizenship education in bilingual, ESL, and immigrant schooling contexts, migrant education, and high stakes testing in the social studies.

Allison  Skerrett

Allison Skerrett

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
askerrett@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4883

Expertise: Secondary English Curriculum, Adolescent Literacy, Multicultural Education, Sociocultural Influences on Teaching and Learning

Carol J Spaulding

Carol J Spaulding

Lecturer, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
carolspaulding@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5846

Expertise: Preschool children's media use, survey design, formative research and program development for low-literacy populations

Elizabeth  Swanson

Elizabeth Swanson

Research Assistant Professor (Affiliated), Department of Special Education, College of Education
easwanson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2320

Jessica R Toste

Jessica R Toste

Assistant Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
jrtoste@austin.utexas.edu
+1 615 414 3119

Expertise: Reading intervention; learning disabilities; psychosocial processes; mechanisms of risk and resilience; teacher-student relationship; classroom climate

Kathleen R Tyner

Kathleen R Tyner

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, College of Communication
ktyner@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4077

Expertise: Media literacy, media education, educational technology, literacy, new media and learning, children and media, youth media.

Sharon  Vaughn

Sharon Vaughn

Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
srvaughn@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2357

Expertise: Learning disabilities; reading problems; self-concept; diverse learners; inclusion practices

Melissa R Wetzel

Melissa R Wetzel

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
mmwetzel@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1423

Expertise: Preservice Teacher Learning in Literacy, Critical Approaches to Discourse Analysis and Ethnography, New Literacy Studies and Multimodality

Jo Worthy

Jo Worthy

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
worthy@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 565 8638

Expertise: Alternatives to Ability Grouping Reading Interests and Preferences Students Who Find School Challenging Bilingual Education Dyslexia and Reading Challenges