School of Social Work Experts


Noel B Busch-Armendariz

Noel B Busch-Armendariz

Professor, School of Social Work
nbusch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6388, +1 512 471 3470

Expertise: sexual assault, interpersonal violence, domestic violence, prostitution, human trafficking, refugees and asylum seekers, adult entertainment industry, restorative justice.

Esther  Calzada

Esther Calzada

Associate Dean, School of Social Work
esther.calzada@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Latino children, parenting, academic achievement, mental health, immigration, acculturation

Namkee  Choi

Namkee Choi

Professor, School of Social Work
nchoi@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9590

Expertise: Geriatric mental health, depression treatment in aging services, social policy for older adults.

Catherine  Cubbin

Catherine Cubbin

Associate Dean for Research, School of Social Work
ccubbin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0625

Expertise: Social epidemiology; social inequalities in health; neighborhood environments and health; public health

Diana M Dinitto

Diana M Dinitto

Professor, School of Social Work
ddinitto@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9227

Expertise: Alcohol use, drug use, social welfare, social policy, social work

Monica Faulkner

Monica Faulkner

Research Associate Professor, School of Social Work
mfaulkner@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Child welfare, child and family policy, foster care, teen pregnancy prevention, Latino families

Cynthia G Franklin

Cynthia G Franklin

Interim Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Social Work
cfranklin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0533

Expertise: School mental health, Solution-focused Brief Therapy, dropout prevention, at-risk youth, research on how to design schools that promote achievement and a safe, respectful and violent free culture.

Molly A Lopez

Molly A Lopez

Research Associate Professor, Office of the Associate Dean for Research
mlopez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0614

Expertise: mental health services, evidence-based practice, trauma-informed care, cognitive behavioral therapies, workforce competency, systems of care.

Jane C Maxwell

Jane C Maxwell

Research Professor, School of Social Work
jcmaxwell@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Substance use trends; methamphetamine, party drugs, opiates, prescription drugs; impaired driving programs

Ruth G McRoy

Ruth G McRoy

SW-Professor, School of Social Work
r.mcroy@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 426 5828, +1 916 444 6020

Expertise: Open adoptions, outcomes for birthmothers, adoptive parents and adopted children, trans-racial adoptions, family preservation, special needs adoptions, post adoption services, female sexual abuse perpetrators, racial identity issues, adolescent pregnancy, effectiveness of residential treatment services, adoption, same-sex couples

Elizabeth  Mueller

Elizabeth Mueller

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
ejmueller@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1151

Expertise: Architecture, urban planning, social equity, affordable housing, community development, urban politics and research design.

Mary M Velasquez

Mary M Velasquez

Professor, School of Social Work
velasquez@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7019

Expertise: Motivational Interviewing, evidence-based interventions, integrated behavioral health, smoking cessation, alcohol abuse, prenatal health.

Kari L White

Kari L White

Principal Investigator, Texas Policy Evaluation Project
klwhite@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1791

Expertise: Dr. White studies reproductive health and policy, with a specialty on family planning and abortion policy in Texas and the southeastern region of the United States. Much of her research is conducted as part of The Texas Policy Evaluation Project, a collaborative group of researchers who evaluate the impact of legislation in Texas related to women’s reproductive health. She has been interviewed as an expert for news outlets such as the Los Angeles Times and National Public Radio and has been featured as an op-ed contributor in the Washington Post, The Hill, the Austin-American-Statesman, and more. Expertise: women’s health policy; reproductive health, family planning legislation; contraception; abortion; Texas state policy on women’s health; Title X; vasectomy; abortion and family planning policy in the southeastern United States

Nina I Zuna

Nina I Zuna

Associate Director, School of Social Work
nzuna@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0758