School of Social Work Experts


Marilyn  Armour

Marilyn Armour

Professor, School of Social Work
marmour@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3197

Expertise: Restorative justice, restorative discipline, school-to-prison pipeline, family members of homicide victims, death penalty.

Elisa V Borah

Elisa V Borah

Research Associate Professor (Affiliated), Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
elisa.borah@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Military social work, mental health, treatment for PTSD, behavioral health, evidence-based interventions.

Noel B Busch-Armendariz

Noel B Busch-Armendariz

Associate Vice-President For Research
nbusch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6388, +1 512 471 3470

Expertise: sexual assault, interpersonal violence, domestic violence, prostitution, human trafficking, refugees and asylum seekers, adult entertainment industry.

Esther  Calzada

Esther Calzada

Associate Professor, School of Social Work
esther.calzada@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: mental health, immigration, acculturation, Latino children, parenting

Namkee  Choi

Namkee Choi

Professor, School of Social Work
nchoi@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9590

Expertise: Geriatric mental health, depression treatment in aging services, social policy for older adults.

Diana M Dinitto

Diana M Dinitto

Professor, School of Social Work
ddinitto@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9227

Expertise: Alcohol use, drug use, social welfare, social policy, social work

Erin M Espinosa

Erin M Espinosa

Research Associate, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
erin.espinosa@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0606

Expertise: Mental health and juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice system, gender issues within the juvenile justice system, trauma-informed care, research-based mental health treatments

Monica Faulkner

Monica Faulkner

Research Associate Professor, School of Social Work
mfaulkner@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Child welfare, child and family policy, foster care, teen pregnancy prevention, Latino families

Rowena  Fong

Rowena Fong

Professor, School of Social Work
rfong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1393

Expertise: Adoption, child welfare, international adoptions from China, Chinese-American children and families.

Cynthia G Franklin

Cynthia G Franklin

Associate Dean for Doctoral Education, School of Social Work
cfranklin@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0533

Expertise: School mental health, Solution-focused Brief Therapy, dropout prevention, at-risk youth, research on how to design schools that promote achievement and a safe, respectful and violent free culture.

Barbara L Jones

Barbara L Jones

Associate Dean for Health Affairs, School of Social Work
barbarajones@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 9367

Expertise: Palliative care, pediatric oncology, cancer survivors, adolescent and young adult oncology, interprofessional education, medical social work, integrated behavioral health, medical ethics

Michael L Lauderdale

Michael L Lauderdale

Professor, School of Social Work
mll@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9246, +1 512 471 9831

Expertise: Organizational assessment, organizational development, survey research, community justice, criminal justice, US-Mexico relations

Molly A Lopez

Molly A Lopez

Research Associate Professor (Affiliated), School of Social Work
mlopez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0614

Expertise: mental health services, evidence-based practice, trauma-informed care, cognitive behavioral therapies, workforce competency, systems of care.

Jane C Maxwell

Jane C Maxwell

Research Professor, School of Social Work
jcmaxwell@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 656 3361

Expertise: Substance abuse trends and patterns, U.S./Mexico border; use and abuse of methamphetamine, party drugs, methadone and other opiate drugs; impaired driving programs; and abuse of prescription drugs.

Ruth G McRoy

Ruth G McRoy

Professor Emeritus, School of Social Work
r.mcroy@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0551

Expertise: Open adoptions, outcomes for birthmothers, adoptive parents and adopted children, trans-racial adoptions, family preservation, special needs adoptions, post adoption services, female sexual abuse perpetrators, racial identity issues, adolescent pregnancy, effectiveness of residential treatment services, adoption, same-sex couples

Richard T Spence

Richard T Spence

Research Professor, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
r.spence@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0608, +1 512 232 0616

Expertise: Addiction research, substance abuse and treatment.

Mary M Velasquez

Mary M Velasquez

Professor, School of Social Work
velasquez@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7019

Expertise: Motivational Interviewing, evidence-based interventions, integrated behavioral health, smoking cessation, alcohol abuse, prenatal health.

Luis H Zayas

Luis H Zayas

Dean, School of Social Work
lzayas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1937
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Latino adolescents, suicide prevention, child and adolescent mental health, culturally competent interventions, immigration, minorities