Dell Medical School Experts


Steven  Abrams

Steven Abrams

Professor of Pediatrics, Department of Pediatrics, Dell Medical School
sabrams@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 4700

Expertise: pediatrics, mineral requirements of children of all ages, growth of preterm infants and the use of specialized nutritional practices,

Kevin  Bozic

Kevin Bozic

Professor of Surgery, Department of Surgery and Perioperative Care, Dell Medical School
kevin.bozic@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5067

Expertise: management of patients with arthritis of the hip and knee, health policy and health care services research, healthcare technology assessment, cost-effectiveness analysis, shared medical decision making, and value-based payment and delivery models

Stacey H Chang

Stacey H Chang

Executive Director, Design Institute for Health, The Design Institute for Health, Dell Medical School
stacey.chang@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5087

Expertise: design approaches to solving systemic health care challenges,

Sue Cox

Sue Cox

Executive Vice Dean for Academics, Dell Medical School
suecox@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5102

Expertise: Medical Education, Obstetrics, Gynecology, Preterm Labor, Antepartum Pyelonephritis, Sexually Transmitted Infections

Richard B Freeman

Richard B Freeman

Vice Dean of Clinical Affairs, Dell Medical School
richard.freeman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5044

Expertise: Value based care, Risk bearing payment models, Fee for service, Physician practice management, Transplant/Transplantation, Immune Response, Immunology of Liver Regeneration, Viral Infections in Transplantation, Long-term outcomes after transplants, and Donor organ policies

Clay Johnston

Clay Johnston

Vice President for Medical Affairs and Dean of the Dell Medical School, Dell Medical School
clay.johnston@utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5000

Expertise: Implementation Science, Older adults, Persons with Physical Disability, Stroke, Transient Ischemic Attack, Interdisciplinary Research Collaboration, Implementation & Dissemination Science Listservs

Lisa C Kirsch

Lisa C Kirsch

Senior Policy Director, Dell Medical School
lisa.kirsch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5131

Expertise: health care delivery and payment, Medicaid, children's health insurance

William  Lawson

William Lawson

Associate Dean of Health Disparities, Dell Medical School
william.lawson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5082, +1 240 273 8319

Expertise: Mental Health, Violence and Mental Illness, Racial and Ethnic Issues in Mental Health, Mental Disorders, Substance Abuse, Ethnic Disparities in Care, Access to Care, Ethnic Issues in Pharmacotherapy

Beto Lopez

Beto Lopez

Managing Director, Design Institute for Health, The Design Institute for Health, Dell Medical School
beto.lopez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5088
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: design, systems thinking, sustainable development, business strategy, rapid prototyping

Christopher P Moriates

Christopher P Moriates

Assistant Dean of Healthcare Value, Department of Medical Education, Dell Medical School
cmoriates@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5168

Expertise: curriculum, value-based healthcare

William M Sage

William M Sage

Professor, School of Law
bsage@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7806

Expertise: Health law, regulatory theory, antitrust, and professional responsibility

Steve Strakowski

Steve Strakowski

Professor of Psychiatry, Department of Psychiatry, Dell Medical School
steve.strakowski@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5114

Expertise: Mental Health, Psychiatry

Elizabeth Teisberg

Executive Director, Institute for Value in Health and Care, Dell Medical School
teisberg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5179

Expertise: value-based health care strategy,

Bill  Tierney

Bill Tierney

Professor of Population Health, Department of Population Health, Dell Medical School
tierney@utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5006

Expertise: Population Health, Health Promotion, Disease Prevention, Medical Informatics, Big Data, Data Analytics/Epidemiology, New Models of Care, General Internal Medicine, Primary Care, Hospital Medicine, Health Services/Systems Research, Global Health

Scott  Wallace

Scott Wallace

Managing Director, Institute for Value in Health and Care, Dell Medical School
scott.wallace@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5127

Expertise: value-based health care delivery, Experience Group research tool, health IT, chronic care models, outcomes measurement, innovation and financing issues in health care, policy

Thomas  Yankeelov

Thomas Yankeelov

Director of Cancer Imaging Research, LIVESTRONG Cancer Institutes, Dell Medical School
thomas.yankeelov@utexas.edu

Expertise: advanced imaging methods for the early identification, assessment and prediction of tumors and their response to therapy

Amy  Young

Amy Young

Professor of Women's Health, Department of Women's Health, Dell Medical School
amyyoung@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Women's Health