Browse by Subject


Search results for "mental health"

 


Ricardo C Ainslie

Ricardo C Ainslie

M. K. Hage Centennial Professor in Education, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
rainslie@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0364, +1 512 471 4407

Expertise: Explores the intersection of psychology and culture through such topics as the psychological experience of immigration, ethnic conflicts and the impact of violence within communities, and the relationship between individual and collective identity.

Jacqueline L Angel

Jacqueline L Angel

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
jangel@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2956

Expertise: Hispanic health and demographics; aging policy; social policies with respect to diversity; long-term care; cultural diversity; ethnic studies

Germine H Awad

Germine H Awad

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
gawad@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0526

Expertise: Studies the effects that acculturation and identity have on discrimination, specifically in populations of Arab/Middle Eastern and African American women.

John  Bartholomew

John Bartholomew

Department Chair, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
jbart@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6021, +1 512 471 1273

Expertise: Researches the effect of exercise on mental health to improve mood and reduce stress.

Sarah Kate Bearman

Sarah Kate Bearman

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
skbearman@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Research focuses on the dissemination and implementation of empirically supported practices (ESPs) for children with disruptive behavior, trauma, anxiety and depression in community settings.

Elisa V Borah

Elisa V Borah

Research Associate Professor, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
elisa.borah@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Military social work, mental health, treatment for PTSD, behavioral health, evidence-based interventions.

Chris Brownson

Chris Brownson

Associate VP for Student Affairs, CMHC Director, Counseling and Mental Health Center
cbrownson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 6990

Expertise: Research interests include college student suicide prevention, collaborative care models of behavioral health in primary care, and the intersection of mental health and academic success.

Esther  Calzada

Esther Calzada

Associate Professor, School of Social Work
esther.calzada@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Latino children, parenting, academic achievement, mental health, immigration, acculturation

Cindy I Carlson

Cindy I Carlson

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
ccarlson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4155

Expertise: Active in current healthcare reform endeavors, studies integrated behavioral health, attachment theory, and consultation theories and processes such as home-school partnership and family-centered treatment.

Jane D Champion

Jane D Champion

Professor, School of Nursing
jdchampion@mail.nur.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8208

Expertise: STI/HIV, substance abuse, adolescent and women's health, unintended pregnancy, interpersonal violence

Namkee  Choi

Namkee Choi

Professor, School of Social Work
nchoi@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9590

Expertise: Geriatric mental health, depression treatment in aging services, social policy for older adults.

Kevin O Cokley

Kevin O Cokley

Oscar and Anne Mauzy Regents Professor for Educational Research and Development, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
kcokley@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7498

Expertise: Researches themes related to understanding the psychological and environmental factors that impact African American student achievement, and the impact of the impostor phenomenon in academic and mental health outcomes.

M L Crismon

M L Crismon

Dean, College of Pharmacy
lynn.crismon@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3718

Expertise: Clinical psychopharmacology, mental health outcomes and medications, depression, children and depression and schizophrenia.

David J Drum

David J Drum

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
ddrum@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0367

Expertise: Assists students in finding research topics, particularly relating to college student suicidality and health psychology, working towards integrative health care and improving access to mental health services in hospitals.

Toni Falbo

Toni Falbo

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
toni@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0603, +1 512 471 8020

Expertise: Studies the outcomes of sibling status on human development and educational attainment, and examines the effects of China's one-child policy on the personalities of Chinese children and adults.

Cynthia G Franklin

Cynthia G Franklin

Associate Dean for Doctoral Education, School of Social Work
cfranklin@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0533

Expertise: School mental health, Solution-focused Brief Therapy, dropout prevention, at-risk youth, research on how to design schools that promote achievement and a safe, respectful and violent free culture.

Emmett Gill

Emmett Gill

Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Social Work
emmett.gill@athletics.utexas.edu

Expertise: Athletes and mental health, student athletes, college sports, sports and youth development, socioeconomics and sports, scandals in college sports

Jennifer  Glass

Jennifer Glass

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
jennifer-glass@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8355

Expertise: Work and family issues, telecommuting and new labor practices, STEM labor force retention

Laurie B Green

Laurie B Green

Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
lbgreen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7245

Expertise: Comparative Race Studies; African American Studies; Gender Studies; Working-Class History; Migration; Urban History; Poverty and Public Health; Social Movements; Political and Cultural History; Race Relations, Gender Issues

Frederick G Hensey

Frederick G Hensey

Professor Emeritus, Department of Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts
f.hensey@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4531

Expertise: Linguistics; translation and interpretation theory; language in public life; language

Carole K Holahan

Carole K Holahan

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
c.holahan@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2428

Expertise: Studies psychosocial factors in health behavior and health and well-being in adulthood and aging.

William R Kelly

William R Kelly

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
wkelly@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4142

Expertise: Criminal Justice/Criminology/Ecology of Crime, Program and Policy Research and Evaluation, Research Methodology and Statistics

William  Lawson

William Lawson

Professor Emeritus, Department of Psychiatry, Dell Medical School
william.lawson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5082, +1 240 273 8319

Expertise: Mental Health, Violence and Mental Illness, Racial and Ethnic Issues in Mental Health, Mental Disorders, Substance Abuse, Ethnic Disparities in Care, Access to Care, Ethnic Issues in Pharmacotherapy

Molly A Lopez

Molly A Lopez

Research Associate Professor, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
mlopez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0614

Expertise: mental health services, evidence-based practice, trauma-informed care, cognitive behavioral therapies, workforce competency, systems of care.

Arthur B Markman

Arthur B Markman

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
markman@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4645

Expertise: Similarity, Analogical Reasoning and Analogical Problem Solving, Decision Making , Consumer Behavior, Motivation and Preference, Category Use and Category Learning, Taxonomic Hierarchies and Conceptual Combination, Symbolic and Connectionist models of Analogy, Similarity and Categorization, Knowledge Representation and Causal Mental Models

Julie  Maslowsky

Julie Maslowsky

Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
maslowsky@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7190
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Researches and develops programs in adolescent health promotion, primarily substance abuse and pregnancy prevention.

Todd A Olmstead

Todd A Olmstead

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
tolmstead@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8456

Expertise: Healthcare Policy, Healthcare, Transportation, Highway Safety, Administrative Rulemaking

Soncia  Reagins-Lilly

Soncia Reagins-Lilly

Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy
soncia.r.lilly@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1133

Expertise: Higher Education policy, administration and finance; strategic planning; Leadership Development; Cultural Competence and International Cultural exchange

Aaron B Rochlen

Aaron B Rochlen

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
arochlen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0361, +1 512 471 4409

Expertise: Research focuses on men and traditional masculinity, with a particular emphasis on men's mental health, depression, help-seeking patterns, and their underutilization of counseling services.

Erin M Rodriguez

Erin M Rodriguez

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
erodriguez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0283

Expertise: Studies family, linguistic, and sociocultural influences on children's adaptation to stress, to better understand how family coping, language and communication, and sociocultural context impact children's mental and physical health outcomes.

Delida  Sanchez

Delida Sanchez

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
delida.sanchez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0368

Expertise: Interested in teaching and research in the area of multicultural counseling, exploring ethnic and racial identity development, and mental health outcomes among Black and Latino adolescents.

David W Springer

David W Springer

Director, RGK Center for Philanthropy and Community Service, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
dwspringer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0512, +1 512 232 7062

Expertise: Juvenile justice system reform, community-based services with youth, criminal justice, community-based participatory research

Kevin D Stark

Kevin D Stark

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
kstark@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0267, +1 512 471 4407

Expertise: Studies the application of cognitive-behavioral interventions to behavior problems in schools, and the assessment, treatment, and theoretical models of depression in children and adolescents.

Mary A Steinhardt

Mary A Steinhardt

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
msteinhardt@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3535

Expertise: Focuses on how individuals successfully adapt to stress and build health resilience.

Patricia A Stout

Patricia A Stout

Professor, Department of Advertising, College of Communication
pstout@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8152, +1 512 471 1101

Expertise: Advertising copy research and consumer behavior; emotional response to advertising; health communications and social marketing issues; business. Health communication, including HIV/AIDS, immunization, and obesity.

Steve Strakowski

Steve Strakowski

Professor of Psychiatry, Department of Psychiatry, Dell Medical School
steve.strakowski@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5114

Expertise: Mental Health, Psychiatry

Michael J Telch

Michael J Telch

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
telch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8488, +1 512 471 3393

Expertise: Agrophobia; Anxiety and phobic disorders; Behavioral medicine; Behavioral therapies; Cognitive processes of behavior change; Therapy outcome evaluation

Debra J Umberson

Debra J Umberson

Director, Population Research Center, College of Liberal Arts
umberson@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6330

Expertise: Population Health ( Structural Determinants of Mental and Physical Health; Stress and Social Support; Health Behavior; Health Disparities; Sexual Minority Health); Family and Gender (Gender and Relationships; Same-Sex Couples; Marital Status and Health; Relationship Quality and Health; Family Status and Health; Intergenerational Relationships; Family and Bereavement); Aging and the Life Course (Psychosocial Epidemiology across the Life Course; Aging and the Family; Death and Dying; Marriage and Intimate Partnerships).

Patrick P Wong

Patrick P Wong

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
patwong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8962

Expertise: social policy, family and child welfare, children services, mental health, poverty issues, housing, community development

Cara  Young

Cara Young

Assistant Professor, School of Nursing
cyoung@mail.nur.utexas.edu

Expertise: Child and adolescent health; adolescent mental health promotion and prevention; mindfulness; mental health stigma; provision of primary health care

Luis H Zayas

Luis H Zayas

Dean, School of Social Work
lzayas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1937
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Latino adolescents, suicide prevention, child and adolescent mental health, culturally competent interventions, immigration, minorities