Browse by Subject


Search results for "health promotion"

 


Gayle J Acton

Gayle J Acton

Assistant Dean, School of Nursing
gacton@mail.nur.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7334, +1 512 471 9081

Expertise: adult health nursing, gerontological nursing, gerontology, meta-analysis, family caregiving for persons with dementia, theory development

Ronen  Avraham

Ronen Avraham

Senior Lecturer, School of Law
ravraham@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1357

Expertise: Torts, Tort Reform, Healthcare Reform, Insurance Law, Law and Economics

Sarah Kate Bearman

Sarah Kate Bearman

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
skbearman@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Research focuses on the dissemination and implementation of empirically supported practices (ESPs) for children with disruptive behavior, trauma, anxiety and depression in community settings.

Kevin  Bozic

Kevin Bozic

Professor of Surgery, Department of Surgery and Perioperative Care, Dell Medical School
kevin.bozic@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5067

Expertise: management of patients with arthritis of the hip and knee, health policy and health care services research, healthcare technology assessment, cost-effectiveness analysis, shared medical decision making, and value-based payment and delivery models

Sharon A Brown

Sharon A Brown

Professor, School of Nursing
sabrown@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4704

Expertise: Type 2 diabetes, health promotion,self-management, health disparities, meta-analysis

Darla M Castelli

Darla M Castelli

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
dcastelli@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7636

Expertise: Studies the relationship between physical activity and cognitive performance in children and adolescents.

Don S Crowley

Don S Crowley

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
crowley@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3949, +1 512 232 2205

Expertise: Swimming/aquatic safety; swimming instruction; fitness

Cynthia G Franklin

Cynthia G Franklin

Associate Dean for Doctoral Education, School of Social Work
cfranklin@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0533

Expertise: School mental health, Solution-focused Brief Therapy, dropout prevention, at-risk youth, research on how to design schools that promote achievement and a safe, respectful and violent free culture.

Emmett Gill

Emmett Gill

Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Social Work
emmett.gill@athletics.utexas.edu

Expertise: Athletes and mental health, student athletes, college sports, sports and youth development, socioeconomics and sports, scandals in college sports

Benjamin G Gregg

Benjamin G Gregg

Associate Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
bgregg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7274

Expertise: Democracy, Rule of Law, Human Rights, Political Theory, Social Theory, Bioethics, Genetic Manipulation of Humans

Michelle  Harrison

Michelle Harrison

Research Engineering/ Scientist Associate III, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
michelle.harrison@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9879

Expertise: Research focuses on biomarkers underlying lifestyle behaviors, metabolic health, and chronic disease in at-risk populations.

Esbelle M Jowers

Esbelle M Jowers

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
ejowers@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6027
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Jowers directs three major grant projects, including the Texas Initiatives for Children's Activity & Nutrition (I-CAN!) project, the Women, Infants & Children (WIC) Retention and Engagement Study, and the PMATS/Walk Texas! Project. Texas I-CAN! is an obesity prevention project that aims to increase both physical activity and healthy eating in elementary school children. This project is currently funded through the National Institutes of Health/ Eunice Kennedy Shriver Center for Child Development.The goal is to train elementary school teachers to incorporate physical activity into their academic lessons daily and to evaluate the corresponding physical activity changes and academic impact on the participating children. This is a 5-year project that will recruit 30 elementary schools within Central Texas. Jowers was part of the creation and refinement of this program since 2001 and has extensive experience working with children, elementary school teachers, and independent school districts. The WIC Engagement and Retention Study is funded by the Department of State Health Services (DSHS)/WIC State Office to examine both quantitatively and qualitatively the factors that influence participant engagement and retention in the program. PMATS/Walk Texas! is funded by the Department of State Health Services (DSHS)/Texas Diabetes Council/Program to provide diabetes prevention and technical assistance/expertise to state-funded community diabetes prevention projects. Additionally, Dr. Jowers manages the online reporting system, termed the Program Management and Tracking System, for the Texas Department of State and Health Services. This system tracks clinical outcomes across various programs (physical activity, nutrition, diabetes self management) to determine the impact of the programs on diabetes prevention and control across the state of Texas.

Xiaofen  Keating

Xiaofen Keating

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
xk93@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3565

Expertise: Research foci are (a) measurement and assessment in physical activity settings using technology; (b) fitness education and health-related fitness knowledge testing; and (c) healthy lifestyle promotion among university students and technologies

Harold W Kohl

Harold W Kohl

Research Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
hkohl@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 391 2530

Expertise: Specializes in public health, epidemiology and the study and promotion of physical activity for health.

Lara  Latimer

Lara Latimer

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
lara.a.latimer@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4351

Expertise: Addressing overweight & obesity, specifically through examining how the physical and social environment influences nutrition-related behavior. Tobacco prevention among college students.

Julie  Maslowsky

Julie Maslowsky

Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
maslowsky@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7190
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Researches and develops programs in adolescent health promotion, primarily substance abuse and pregnancy prevention.

Christopher P Moriates

Christopher P Moriates

Assistant Dean of Healthcare Value, Department of Medical Education, Dell Medical School
cmoriates@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5168

Expertise: curriculum, value-based healthcare

Todd A Olmstead

Todd A Olmstead

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
tolmstead@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8456

Expertise: Healthcare Policy, Healthcare, Transportation, Highway Safety, Administrative Rulemaking

Katherina A Payne

Katherina A Payne

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
kapayne@utexas.edu

Expertise: Her research and teaching interests focus on understanding, questioning, and furthering the relationship between public schools and the health and renewal of democracy. Professor Payne's work as a teacher educator and researcher seeks to better prepare and support elementary teachers as democratic educators who can create more equitable classrooms and learning experiences for all students to see themselves as able and active members of our democratic society. Currently, her work in social studies education focuses on the civic lives of young children and aims to promote recognition of the every day civic actions in which young children engage.

George D Pollak

George D Pollak

Professor, Department of Neuroscience, College of Natural Sciences
gpollak@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4352, +1 512 471 4849

Expertise: Neurophysiology and how brain controls behavior

Carol J Spaulding

Carol J Spaulding

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
carolspaulding@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1539

Expertise: Preschool children's media use, survey design, formative research and program development for low-literacy populations

Dixie  Stanforth

Dixie Stanforth

Senior Lecturer, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
d.stanforth@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3950, +1 512 471 1273

Expertise: Health and Fitness Personal Training Behavioral Journalism Health Communication

Mary A Steinhardt

Mary A Steinhardt

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
msteinhardt@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3535

Expertise: Focuses on how individuals successfully adapt to stress and build health resilience.

Steve Strakowski

Steve Strakowski

Professor of Psychiatry, Department of Psychiatry, Dell Medical School
steve.strakowski@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5114

Expertise: Mental Health, Psychiatry

Alexa M Stuifbergen

Alexa M Stuifbergen

Dean, School of Nursing
astuifbergen@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4100, +1 512 232 4764

Expertise: Health promotion, chronic illness, disability, multiple sclerosis; rehabilitation, post-polio syndrome, fibromyalgia

Bill  Tierney

Bill Tierney

Professor of Population Health, Department of Population Health, Dell Medical School
tierney@utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5006

Expertise: Population Health, Health Promotion, Disease Prevention, Medical Informatics, Big Data, Data Analytics/Epidemiology, New Models of Care, General Internal Medicine, Primary Care, Hospital Medicine, Health Services/Systems Research, Global Health

Gayle M Timmerman

Gayle M Timmerman

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, School of Nursing
gtimmerman@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9087, +1 512 471 9080

Expertise: Binge eating, weight management in women.

Janice (Jan) S Todd

Janice (Jan) S Todd

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
j.todd@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0993, +1 512 471 0995

Expertise: Specializes in the history of strength and conditioning, doping, women and sport, and physical culture; directs the Ph.D. program in Physical Culture and Sport Studies and the Masters program in Sport Management.

Cara  Young

Cara Young

Assistant Professor, School of Nursing
cyoung@mail.nur.utexas.edu

Expertise: Child and adolescent health; adolescent mental health promotion and prevention; mindfulness; mental health stigma; provision of primary health care