School of Social Work Experts


Marilyn  Armour

Marilyn Armour

(Future) Professor, School of Social Work
marmour@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3197

Expertise: Restorative justice, restorative discipline, school-to-prison pipeline, family members of homicide victims, death penalty.

Elisa V Borah

Elisa V Borah

Research Associate Professor, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
elisa.borah@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Military social work, mental health, treatment for PTSD, behavioral health, evidence-based interventions.

Noel B Busch-Armendariz

Noel B Busch-Armendariz

Professor, School of Social Work
nbusch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6388, +1 512 471 3470

Expertise: sexual assault, interpersonal violence, domestic violence, prostitution, human trafficking, refugees and asylum seekers, adult entertainment industry.

Esther  Calzada

Esther Calzada

Associate Professor, School of Social Work, School of Social Work
esther.calzada@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Latino children, parenting, academic achievement, mental health, immigration, acculturation

Namkee  Choi

Namkee Choi

Professor, School of Social Work
nchoi@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9590

Expertise: Geriatric mental health, depression treatment in aging services, social policy for older adults.

Diana M Dinitto

Diana M Dinitto

Professor, School of Social Work
ddinitto@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9227

Expertise: Alcohol use, drug use, social welfare, social policy, social work

Monica Faulkner

Monica Faulkner

Research Associate Professor, School of Social Work
mfaulkner@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Child welfare, child and family policy, foster care, teen pregnancy prevention, Latino families

Rowena  Fong

Rowena Fong

Professor, School of Social Work
rfong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1393

Expertise: Adoption, child welfare, international adoptions from China, Chinese-American children and families.

Cynthia G Franklin

Cynthia G Franklin

Associate Dean for Doctoral Education, School of Social Work
cfranklin@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0533

Expertise: School mental health, Solution-focused Brief Therapy, dropout prevention, at-risk youth, research on how to design schools that promote achievement and a safe, respectful and violent free culture.

Emmett Gill

Emmett Gill

Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Social Work
emmett.gill@athletics.utexas.edu

Expertise: Athletes and mental health, student athletes, college sports, sports and youth development, socioeconomics and sports, scandals in college sports

Heather L Holloway

Heather L Holloway

Other University Affiliate, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
heatherlarkin@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Homelessness, adverse childhood experiences (ACEs)

Barbara L Jones

Barbara L Jones

Associate Dean for Health Affairs, School of Social Work
barbarajones@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 9367

Expertise: Palliative care, pediatric oncology, cancer survivors, adolescent and young adult oncology, interprofessional education, medical social work, integrated behavioral health, medical ethics

Michael L Lauderdale

Michael L Lauderdale

Professor, School of Social Work
mll@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9246, +1 512 471 9831

Expertise: Organizational assessment, organizational development, survey research, community justice, criminal justice, US-Mexico relations

Molly A Lopez

Molly A Lopez

Research Associate Professor, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
mlopez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0614

Expertise: mental health services, evidence-based practice, trauma-informed care, cognitive behavioral therapies, workforce competency, systems of care.

Jane C Maxwell

Jane C Maxwell

Research Professor, School of Social Work
jcmaxwell@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 656 3361

Expertise: Substance use trends; methamphetamine, party drugs, opiates, prescription drugs; impaired driving programs

Ruth G McRoy

Ruth G McRoy

Professor Emeritus, School of Social Work
r.mcroy@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0551

Expertise: Open adoptions, outcomes for birthmothers, adoptive parents and adopted children, trans-racial adoptions, family preservation, special needs adoptions, post adoption services, female sexual abuse perpetrators, racial identity issues, adolescent pregnancy, effectiveness of residential treatment services, adoption, same-sex couples

Elizabeth J Mueller

Elizabeth J Mueller

Assistant Professor, School of Architecture
ejmueller@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1151

Expertise: Architecture, urban planning, social equity, affordable housing, community development, urban politics and research design.

Arthur J Schwab

Arthur J Schwab

Professor, School of Social Work
jimschwab@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9816

Expertise: child welfare, human services

Richard T Spence

Richard T Spence

Research Professor, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
r.spence@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0608, +1 512 232 0616

Expertise: Addiction research, substance abuse and treatment.

Mary M Velasquez

Mary M Velasquez

Professor, School of Social Work
velasquez@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7019

Expertise: Motivational Interviewing, evidence-based interventions, integrated behavioral health, smoking cessation, alcohol abuse, prenatal health.

Luis H Zayas

Luis H Zayas

Dean, School of Social Work, Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost, School of Social Work
lzayas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1937
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Latino adolescents, suicide prevention, child and adolescent mental health, culturally competent interventions, immigration, minorities