School of Social Work Experts


Marilyn  Armour

Marilyn Armour

Professor, School of Social Work
marmour@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3197

Expertise: Restorative justice, restorative discipline, school-to-prison pipeline, family members of homicide victims, death penalty.

Noel B Busch-Armendariz

Noel B Busch-Armendariz

Professor, School of Social Work
nbusch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6388, +1 512 471 3470

Expertise: sexual assault, interpersonal violence, domestic violence, prostitution, human trafficking, refugees and asylum seekers, adult entertainment industry.

Esther  Calzada

Esther Calzada

Associate Professor, School of Social Work
esther.calzada@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Latino children, parenting, academic achievement, mental health, immigration, acculturation

Namkee  Choi

Namkee Choi

Professor, School of Social Work
nchoi@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9590

Expertise: Geriatric mental health, depression treatment in aging services, social policy for older adults.

Catherine  Cubbin

Catherine Cubbin

Associate Dean for Research, School of Social Work
ccubbin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0625

Expertise: Social epidemiology; social inequalities in health; neighborhood environments and health; public health

Diana M Dinitto

Diana M Dinitto

Professor, School of Social Work
ddinitto@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9227

Expertise: Alcohol use, drug use, social welfare, social policy, social work

Rowena  Fong

Rowena Fong

Professor, School of Social Work
rfong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1393

Expertise: Adoption, child welfare, international adoptions from China, Chinese-American children and families.

Cynthia G Franklin

Cynthia G Franklin

Associate Dean for Doctoral Education, School of Social Work
cfranklin@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0533

Expertise: School mental health, Solution-focused Brief Therapy, dropout prevention, at-risk youth, research on how to design schools that promote achievement and a safe, respectful and violent free culture.

Emmett Gill

Emmett Gill

Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Social Work
emmett.gill@athletics.utexas.edu

Expertise: Athletes and mental health, student athletes, college sports, sports and youth development, socioeconomics and sports, scandals in college sports

Barbara L Jones

Barbara L Jones

Associate Dean for Health Affairs, School of Social Work
barbarajones@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 9367

Expertise: Palliative care, pediatric oncology, cancer survivors, adolescent and young adult oncology, interprofessional education, medical social work, integrated behavioral health, medical ethics

Molly A Lopez

Molly A Lopez

Research Associate Professor, Office of the Associate Dean for Research
mlopez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0614

Expertise: mental health services, evidence-based practice, trauma-informed care, cognitive behavioral therapies, workforce competency, systems of care.

Sandy  Magana

Sandy Magana

Professor, School of Social Work
smagana@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Developmental disabilities, Autism Spectrum Disorder, health disparities, evidence-based interventions, culturally relevant interventions, Hispanic families

Jane C Maxwell

Jane C Maxwell

Research Professor, School of Social Work
jcmaxwell@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 656 3361

Expertise: Substance use trends; methamphetamine, party drugs, opiates, prescription drugs; impaired driving programs

Ruth G McRoy

Ruth G McRoy

Professor Emeritus, School of Social Work
r.mcroy@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Open adoptions, outcomes for birthmothers, adoptive parents and adopted children, trans-racial adoptions, family preservation, special needs adoptions, post adoption services, female sexual abuse perpetrators, racial identity issues, adolescent pregnancy, effectiveness of residential treatment services, adoption, same-sex couples

Elizabeth  Mueller

Elizabeth Mueller

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
ejmueller@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1151

Expertise: Architecture, urban planning, social equity, affordable housing, community development, urban politics and research design.

Michele A Rountree

Michele A Rountree

Associate Professor, School of Social Work
mrountree@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Health disparities, intimate partner violence and heightened risk for HIV/AIDS, evidence-based HIV/AIDS interventions, prevention strategies tailored to women and communities of color.

Mary M Velasquez

Mary M Velasquez

Professor, School of Social Work
velasquez@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7019

Expertise: Motivational Interviewing, evidence-based interventions, integrated behavioral health, smoking cessation, alcohol abuse, prenatal health.