Browse by Subject


Search results for "immigration issues"

 


Jennifer K Adair

Jennifer K Adair

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
jadair@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Areas of expertise include early childhood education, racial justice and equity in early learning, educational anthropology, video-cued ethnography, immigration and education, impact of social injustices on childhoods, project-based learning led by community expertise and early childhood educational leadership and program transformation.

Ricardo C Ainslie

Ricardo C Ainslie

M. K. Hage Centennial Professor in Education, Counseling Psychology, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
rainslie@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0364, +1 512 471 4407

Expertise: Explores the intersection of psychology and culture through such topics as the psychological experience of immigration, ethnic conflicts and the impact of violence within communities, and the relationship between individual and collective identity. Is also interested in US-Mexico health, including addressing health disparities. <em>Note: Dr. Ainslie will not be taking new students for the 2023 academic year.</em>

Jacqueline L Angel

Jacqueline L Angel

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
jangel@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2956

Expertise: Hispanic health and demographics; aging policy; social policies with respect to diversity; long-term care; cultural diversity; ethnic studies

William H Beardall

William H Beardall

Clinical Professor, School of Law
bbeardall@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 784 0683

Expertise: Wage rights and policy; Low-wage workers; Immigrant workers; Guest workers; Immigrant worker rights and issues; Immigration reform; Legal aid for low-income persons; Public interest law; Law school clinics

Ariel E Dulitzky

Ariel E Dulitzky

Clinical Professor, School of Law
adulitzky@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1256

Expertise: International human rights law, Latin America

Denise L Gilman

Denise L Gilman

Clinical Professor, School of Law
dgilman@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7796

Expertise: Denise Gilman teaches and directs the Immigration Clinic after having joined the clinical faculty at the University of Texas Law School in the fall of 2007. Professor Gilman received her undergraduate degree with honors in political science from Northwestern University. She received her law degree from Columbia University School of Law where she served on the Law Review. Professor Gilman also has an LLM from Georgetown University Law Center. Professor Gilman clerked for Judge Thomas M. Reavley, at the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. She is fluent in Spanish.

Gloria  Gonzalez-Lopez

Gloria Gonzalez-Lopez

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
gloria@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6343

Expertise: Sociology of Gender and Sexuality; Migration Studies; Sexual Violence; Masculinities; Sociology of Family Life; Qualitative Methodologies; Gender issues, Family relationships

Barbara C Hines

Barbara C Hines

Adjunct Professor, School of Law
bhines@law.utexas.edu

Expertise: Immigration law, constitutional and statutory rights of immigrants in federal and immigration courts.

Martha  Menchaca

Martha Menchaca

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
mmen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7537

Expertise: Social anthropology, ethnicity, gender, oral history/oral traditions, legal anthropology, immigration, Chicano studies: US/Mexican culture, Latin America, and Mexico-Neoliberalism

Sharmila  Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Director of South Asia Institute, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6310

Expertise: Race, Ethnicity, Gender, Labor, Immigration

Elissa C Steglich

Elissa C Steglich

Clinical Professor, School of Law
esteglich@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1387

Expertise: immigration and citizenship law, immigrant's rights

Luis  Urrieta

Luis Urrieta

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
urrieta@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4129
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Follows trends around cultural and racial identities, agency, migration, and social movements in education.