UT Austin Experts Available to Speak About Tragedy Related to Police Shootings


In light of recent events in Dallas, Baton Rouge and Minnesota, UT Austin has experts available to speak on any number of topics from law enforcement tactics to the psychology of tragedy.

If you are seeking expertise on other subjects, please call University Media Relations at 512-471-3151 or consult our general Media Experts Guide.



Police Shootings


Germine Gigi  Awad

Germine Gigi Awad

Associate Professor , Department of Educational Psychology , College of Education
+1 512 471 0526, gawad@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. Awad’s research is characterized by three interrelated areas of inquiry: prejudice and discrimination, identity and acculturation, and body image. She also examines how racial/ethnic identity and acculturation impact ethnic minorities’ perception of discrimination.

Media Contact: Amanda Karr, amanda.karr@austin.utexas.edu, 3234221739

Mary A Bock

Mary A Bock

Associate Professor , School of Journalism and Media , Moody College of Communication
+1 512 471 0673, mary.bock@austin.utexas.edu

Mary Bock’s studies the relationship between words, images and digital media. Specifically, she is an expert on the use of cameras to catch nearly every moment of life, including the use body cameras on police officers.

Media Contact: Natalie England, natalie.england@austin.utexas.edu, 512-471-7209

Kevin O Cokley

Kevin O Cokley

Department Chair , Department of Educational Psychology , College of Education
+1 512 471 7498, kcokley@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. Cokley’s research can be broadly categorized in the area of African American psychology, with a focus on racial and ethnic identity development. He studies the construction of racial and ethnic identities, Afrocentric psychology, academic motivation, academic self-concept, and understanding the psychological and environmental factors that impact African American student achievement.

Media Contact: Amanda Karr, amanda.karr@austin.utexas.edu, 3234221739

Peniel E Joseph

Peniel E Joseph

Professor , Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
+1 512 475 7241, peniel.joseph@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. Joseph focuses his research and study on what he describes as “Black Power Studies,” which encompasses interdisciplinary fields such as Africana studies, law and society, women’s and ethnic studies, and political science.

Media Contact: Tori Yu, victoriajyu@austin.utexas.edu, 512-232-4054

Arthur B Markman

Arthur B Markman

Vice Provost for Continuing and Professional Education and New Education Ventures , Texas Extended Campus
+1 512 232 4645, markman@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. Markman is a social psychologist who studies decision making, motivation and preference, and analogical Reasoning and analogical problem solving.

Christen A Smith

Christen A Smith

Director, CWGS , Department of Anthropology , College of Liberal Arts
+1 512 232 6332, christen.smith@austin.utexas.edu

Dr. Smith researches how police violence impacts the Black community, particularly Black women. She is an expert in racial formation, violence, Black women and transnational struggle, Black liberation and resistance in the U.S.

Media Contact: David Oppenheimer, oppenheimer@utexas.edu, 512-475-9712

For more information, contact: University Communications, Office of the President, 512-471-3151.