School of Architecture Experts


Dean J Almy

Dean J Almy

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
dja3@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9311

Expertise: Urban design, landscape architecture, Dallas Urban Laboratory

Anthony  Alofsin

Anthony Alofsin

Professor, School of Architecture
alofsin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7803

Expertise: Modern architecture; history of architecture; history of art; Frank Lloyd Wright

Kevin S Alter

Professor, School of Architecture
alter@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6545

Expertise: Architecture

James S Black

James S Black

Professor, School of Architecture
sinclair@blackvernooy.com
+1 512 471 0755

Expertise: Urban design, new urbanism, development, Austin Downtown Alliance

Karen H Clary

Director of Plant Conservation, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, School of Architecture
kclary@wildflower.org
+1 512 232 0160

Expertise: Native plant conservation, including rare and endangered plants, invasive species management, botany

Richard L Cleary

Professor, School of Architecture
cleary@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6165

Expertise: Architectural history; architecture

Elizabeth A Danze

Elizabeth A Danze

Dean (Interim), School of Architecture
edanze@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Contemporary architecture, equitable housing

Andrea DeLong-Amaya

Director of Horticulture, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, School of Architecture
adelongamaya@wildflower.org
+1 512 232 0114

Expertise: Native plants; horticulture; garden design

Larry A Doll

Larry A Doll

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
l.a.doll@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0726

Expertise: 20th century European architecture; architectural theory

Michael L Garrison

Michael L Garrison

Professor, School of Architecture
mgarrison@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0185, +1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Advanced Design, environmental controls, solar design

David D Heymann

David D Heymann

Professor, School of Architecture
heymann@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4083

Expertise: Architecture, including buildings and landscapes, particularly natural landscapes.

Michael  Holleran

Michael Holleran

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
holleran@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3792

Expertise: Historic preservation, urban development, history of water, canals and ditches

Nancy P Kwallek

Nancy P Kwallek

Gene Edward Mikeska Chair for Interior Design, School of Architecture
nkwallek@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6249, +1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Interior design, human behavior and design, history and theory of design, interior environments

Christopher A Long

Professor, School of Architecture
chrlong@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4084

Expertise: Modern Architecture; history and theory of central European architecture; history of Central Europe; cultural history; Arts & Humanities

Juan  Miro

Juan Miro

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs, School of Architecture
jmiro@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0182

Expertise: In his teaching, practice and research, Miro explores the role of the architectural profession in civic life, the relationship between the manmade and Nature, and the relevance of history for designers. Miró was named a Distinguished Professor by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA). He is also a member of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers of the University of Texas at Austin. Other teaching awards include the Texas Excellence in Teaching Award and the ACSA New Faculty Teaching Award.

Steven A Moore

Steven A Moore

Professor, School of Architecture
samoore@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0184

Expertise: Sustainable architecture; science and technology studies; politics of technology; philosophy of technology; history of technology

Danielle D Pieranunzi

Director of Sustainability Initiatives, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, School of Architecture
dpieranunzi@wildflower.org
+1 512 232 0124

Expertise: Sustainable approaches to developing and maintaining landscapes, the Sustainable Sites Initiative, sustainable building design and construction,sustainability programs, landscape and building certification systems and performance benchmarks

Lawrence W Speck

Lawrence W Speck

Professor, School of Architecture
lspeck@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0715

Expertise: Architectural design; regionalist design; design of office buildings; airport design; convention center design

Ming  Zhang

Ming Zhang

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
zhangm@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0139

Expertise: Urban transportation planning, urban form and travel behavior, GIS applications in planning, international planning