School of Architecture Experts


D. Michelle  Addington

D. Michelle Addington

Dean, School of Architecture, School of Architecture
addington@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Sustainability; Smart Materials; Building Physics; Lighting; History of Building Technology; Leadership

Dean J Almy

Dean J Almy

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
dja3@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9311

Expertise: Urban design, landscape architecture, Dallas Urban Laboratory

Anthony  Alofsin

Anthony Alofsin

Professor Emeritus, School of Architecture
alofsin@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Modern architecture; history of architecture; history of art; Frank Lloyd Wright

Kevin S Alter

Kevin S Alter

Professor, School of Architecture
alter@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6545

Expertise: Architecture

Kory  Bieg

Kory Bieg

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
bieg@utexas.edu

Expertise: Digital Fabrication, 3D Printing, Digital Design, Visualization, CNC Technology, Theory

James S Black

James S Black

Professor Emeritus, School of Architecture
sinclair@blackvernooy.com

Expertise: Urban design, new urbanism, development, Austin Downtown Alliance

Danelle Briscoe

Danelle Briscoe

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
briscoed@utexas.edu

Expertise: Building Information Modeling (BIM), Fabrication, Relationships of analog to digital design

Richard L Cleary

Richard L Cleary

Professor Emeritus, School of Architecture
cleary@utexas.edu

Expertise: Architectural history; architecture

Coleman  Coker

Coleman Coker

Professor of Practice, School of Architecture
ccoker@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Public Interest Design, Community Outreach, Civic Engagement, Community Equity & Environmental Justice, Ecological Literacy, Student Design/Build

Elizabeth A Danze

Elizabeth A Danze

Professor, School of Architecture
edanze@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Contemporary architecture, equitable housing

Andrea DeLong-Amaya

Director of Horticulture, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center, School of Architecture
adelongamaya@wildflower.org
+1 512 232 0114

Expertise: Native plants; horticulture; garden design

Michael L Garrison

Michael L Garrison

Professor, School of Architecture
mgarrison@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0185, +1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Advanced Design, environmental controls, solar design

David D Heymann

David D Heymann

Professor, School of Architecture
heymann@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4083

Expertise: Architecture, including buildings and landscapes, particularly natural landscapes.

Michael  Holleran

Michael Holleran

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
holleran@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3792

Expertise: Historic preservation, urban development, history of water, canals and ditches

Junfeng  Jiao

Junfeng Jiao

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
jjiao@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Smart communities and built environments; Transit and food access; Active travel; Shared mobility

Nancy P Kwallek

Nancy P Kwallek

Professor Emeritus, School of Architecture
nkwallek@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Interior design, human behavior and design, history and theory of design, interior environments

Charlton N Lewis

Charlton N Lewis

Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, School of Architecture
charltonlewis@austin.utexas.edu

Katherine E Lieberknecht

Katherine E Lieberknecht

Assistant Professor, School of Architecture
klieberknecht@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2683

Christopher A Long

Professor, School of Architecture
chrlong@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4084

Expertise: Modern Architecture; history and theory of central European architecture; history of Central Europe; cultural history; Arts & Humanities

Sarah Lopez

Sarah Lopez

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
sll@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0147
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Ordinary Landscape, Built Environment History, US Mexico Migration, Borderlands, Remittances, and Migrant Detention

Juan  Miro

Juan Miro

Professor, School of Architecture
jmiro@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0182

Expertise: In his teaching, practice and research, Miro explores the role of the architectural profession in civic life, the relationship between the manmade and Nature, and the relevance of history for designers. Miró was named a Distinguished Professor by the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA). He is also a member of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers of the University of Texas at Austin. Other teaching awards include the Texas Excellence in Teaching Award and the ACSA New Faculty Teaching Award.

Steven A Moore

Steven A Moore

Professor Emeritus, School of Architecture
samoore@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Sustainable architecture; science and technology studies; politics of technology; philosophy of technology; history of technology

Elizabeth  Mueller

Elizabeth Mueller

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
ejmueller@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1151

Expertise: Architecture, urban planning, social equity, affordable housing, community development, urban politics and research design.

Lawrence W Speck

Lawrence W Speck

Professor, School of Architecture
lspeck@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 626 7656

Expertise: Architectural design; regionalist design; design of office buildings; airport design; convention center design

Jake Wegmann

Jake Wegmann

Associate Professor, School of Architecture
jagw@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0169

Expertise: Housing affordability, Housing development, Land use regulation, Informal housing, Urban form

Ming  Zhang

Ming Zhang

Professor, School of Architecture
zhangm@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0139

Expertise: Urban transportation planning, urban form and travel behavior, GIS applications in planning, international planning