Browse by Subject


Search results for "poverty"

 


Javier  Auyero

Javier Auyero

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
auyero@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 8073

Expertise: Urban Ethnography, Urban Poverty and Social Inequality, Collective Action, Latin American Studies, Social and Cultural Theory

Henry A Dietz

Henry A Dietz

Professor and University Distinguished Teaching Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
h.dietz@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Latin American politics: urban poverty and politics, civil-military relations, parties and party systems, Peru

Steven J Friesen

Steven J Friesen

Department Chair, Religious Studies, College of Liberal Arts
friesen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8629

Expertise: Early Christianity; Corinthian society; Apostle Paul; New Testament; Biblical Greek; Revelation; Apocalyptic literature, Religious Studies; Poverty and Inequality in Early Roman Empire; Apocalyptic Literature; Imperial Cults; religion

Elizabeth T Gershoff

Elizabeth T Gershoff

Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
liz.gershoff@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4800

Expertise: Child and youth development; adolescence; parenting; parental discipline; violence; early childhood education

Laurie B Green

Laurie B Green

Associate Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
lbgreen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7245

Expertise: Comparative Race Studies; African American Studies; Gender Studies; Working-Class History; Migration; Urban History; Poverty and Public Health; Social Movements; Political and Cultural History; Race Relations, Gender Issues

Carolyn  Heinrich

Carolyn Heinrich

Research Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
cheinrich@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3779

Expertise: Healthcare Policy, Education Policy, Healthcare, Social Policy

Aletha C Huston

Aletha C Huston

Professor Emeritus, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
achuston@utexas.edu

Expertise: Child Development; poverty and child policy; child care; television influences on children

Leigh L Linden

Leigh L Linden

Associate Professor, Department of Economics, College of Liberal Arts
leigh.linden@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8556

Expertise: Economic development; poor countries; economics of education

Cynthia  Osborne

Cynthia Osborne

Associate Dean, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
cosborne@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9808

Expertise: family demography, marriage; cohabitation, non-marital chilbearing, social policy, welfare, poverty, inequality, work/family balance, child well being

Heath J Prince

Heath J Prince

Director (0379), Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
heath.prince@raymarshallcenter.org
+1 512 471 2193

Expertise: workforce development, labor markets, measuring poverty in developing countries

Pedro  Reyes

Pedro Reyes

Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy, College of Education
preyes@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8569
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Focuses on school conditions that foster high academic success for children of poverty, stratification of learning opportunities for children of color, and on state policy that facilitates student success across the education pipeline.

Sahotra  Sarkar

Sahotra Sarkar

Professor, Department of Philosophy, College of Liberal Arts
sarkar@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3800, +1 512 232 7122

Expertise: Philosopy of science; history of science; mathematical genetics; conservation biology; environmental ethics; Zika; conservation planning; vector-borne illnesses

Audrey M Sorrells

Audrey M Sorrells

Associate Dean of Students for Research
audrey.sorrells@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5017, +1 512 475 6547

Expertise: Explores topics in ethnically diverse students with disabilities, veteran students with resulting trauma issues, and professional development for disabled students.

Rebecca M Torres

Rebecca M Torres

Associate Professor, Department of Geography and the Environment, College of Liberal Arts
rebecca.torres@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Rural and Community Development; International and Internal Migration; U.S. Latino Communities; Globalization and Agricultural Restructuring; Tourism in Developing Nations; Gender; Activist Scholarship and Community Engagement; Latin America

Paul  Von hippel

Paul Von hippel

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
paulvonhippel@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 537 8112

Expertise: Demographic Analysis, Education Policy, Healthcare, Statistics

Peter  Ward

Peter Ward

Professor and C.B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair in US-Mexico Relations, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
peter.ward@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6302

Expertise: Latin American urbanization, contemporary Mexican politics, community development and housing policy in developing countries, planning in Mexico City, colonia-type housing in the United States, US-Mexico relations, Governance and politics and Latin America

Patrick P Wong

Patrick P Wong

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
patwong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8962

Expertise: social policy, family and child welfare, children services, mental health, poverty issues, housing, community development