Browse by Subject


Search results for "literacy"

 


Jerome F Bump

Jerome F Bump

Professor Emeritus, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
bump@utexas.edu

Expertise: Gerard Manley Hopkins; Alice books; Victorian literature; literature of nature; animal humanities; digital humanities; computers and English studies, including social networking and multi-player online games; social media

Rebecca M Callahan

Rebecca M Callahan

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy, College of Education
callahan@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8347
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Research interests include immigrant bilinguals' transition from adolescence to young adulthood, as well as their associated educational processes.

Darla M Castelli

Darla M Castelli

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
dcastelli@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7636

Expertise: Studies the relationship between physical activity and cognitive performance in children and adolescents.

North Cooc

North Cooc

Assistant Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
ncooc@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7923

Expertise: Explores how family background, culture, and school contextual factors influence decisions and trajectory outcomes within special education.

Bonnie M Elliott

Bonnie M Elliott

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
belliott@utexas.edu
+1 512 659 8309

Expertise: Helps educators develop a clear vision of how they want to teach before going out to their first professional jobs.

Terrance L Green

Terrance L Green

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy, College of Education
tgreen@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Examines principals and school-community engagement/community development, and issues of educational equity and opportunity.

James V Hoffman

James V Hoffman

Priscilla Pond Flawn Regents Professor in Early Childhood Education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
jhoffman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4041

Expertise: Focuses on teacher preparation, the classroom literacy environment and promoting literacy in developing countries.

Elaine K Horwitz

Elaine K Horwitz

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
horwitz@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4108

Expertise: Studies language acquisition from the perspective of second language learners, and how they affect the learning process.

Joan  Hughes

Joan Hughes

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
joanh@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4145

Expertise: Studies how teachers and K-12 students integrate technologies in-and-outside the classroom for subject area learning.

Deborah C Kelt

Deborah C Kelt

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
dkelt@utexas.edu

Expertise: Brings her experience in literacy education to UT with a specialization in preparing secondary teachers to work in urban schools.

Min  Liu

Min Liu

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
mliu@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6248, +1 512 471 5942

Expertise: Designs and researches interactive learner-centered environments for all age levels with new media and emerging technologies.

Michael S Mackert

Michael S Mackert

Professor, Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations, Moody College of Communication
mackert@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Telemedicine, health communication, health literacy and online communities.

Beth Maloch

Beth Maloch

Associate Dean for Administration and Educator Preparation, College of Education
bmaloch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3476

Expertise: Examines literacy teacher preparation, specifically the role of coaching and mentoring that occurs inside programs.

Sarah R Powell

Sarah R Powell

Associate Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
srpowell@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 6556

Expertise: Develops and tests interventions for students with mathematics difficulties, emphasizing word-problem solving, mathematics writing, and the vocabulary within math.

Daron K Roberts

Daron K Roberts

Founding Director, Center for Sports Leadership and Innovation
daronroberts@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2320

Expertise: Roberts leads the effort at UT Austin to help young male and female athletes succeed on and off the field as responsible citizens; Sports, leadership, education

Loriene  Roy

Loriene Roy

Professor, School of Information
loriene@ischool.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3959

Expertise: Library development in Native American communities; creation of virtual museums of Native American artifacts; literacy efforts in Native American communities; library collection development and evaluation; oral tradition; organizing gatherings of indigenous librarians worldwide

Cinthia S Salinas

Cinthia S Salinas

Department Chair, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
cssalinas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3539

Expertise: Research focuses on bilingual and ESL education, high-stakes social studies testing, and activism in education.

Diane L Schallert

Diane L Schallert

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
dschallert@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0784

Expertise: Investigates the interface between language and learning, socio-functional descriptions of both oral and written language use, how students learn from classroom interactions especially those that occur online, and affective factors that influence learning.

Allison  Skerrett

Allison Skerrett

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
askerrett@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4883

Expertise: Focuses on secondary English and literacy education in urban contexts, including among transnational youth.

Carol J Spaulding

Carol J Spaulding

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
carolspaulding@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1539

Expertise: Preschool children's media use, survey design, formative research and program development for low-literacy populations

Elizabeth  Swanson

Elizabeth Swanson

Research Associate Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
easwanson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2320

Expertise: Investigates the effects of infusing literacy, vocabulary and reading interventions into content area classes.

Margaret A Syverson

Associate Professor Emeritus, Department of Rhetoric and Writing, College of Liberal Arts
pegsyverson@gmail.com

Expertise: Writing; technology; literacy; teaching and learning; impact of technology on culture; information architecture; knowledge ecology; virtual environments; Web development; MOOs and MUDs; cognitive science; assessment

Kathleen R Tyner

Kathleen R Tyner

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
ktyner@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4077

Expertise: Media literacy, media education, educational technology, literacy, new media and learning, children and media, youth media.

Sharon  Vaughn

Sharon Vaughn

Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
srvaughn@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2357

Expertise: Investigates effective interventions for a diverse group of students with reading difficulties and students who are English language learners.

Melissa R Wetzel

Melissa R Wetzel

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
mmwetzel@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1423

Expertise: Focuses on how preservice teachers integrate critical literacy and culturally relevant practices into field-based literacy teaching.

Jo Worthy

Jo Worthy

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
worthy@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 565 8638

Expertise: Teaches classes on literacy development, research, and pedogogy, with an interest in alternatives to ability grouping.