Browse by Subject


Search results for "immigration issues"

 


Jennifer K Adair

Jennifer K Adair

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
jenniferadair@utexas.edu

Ricardo C Ainslie

Ricardo C Ainslie

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
rainslie@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0364, +1 512 471 4407

Expertise: Dr. Ricardo Ainslie's work focuses on communities in the United States and Mexico that have experienced significant conflict, violence, and transformation, exploring broader questions about how communities absorb crises and how individuals and cultural groups live within them. A hallmark of his work is his use of media as a critical tool for conveying ideas and human experience.

Jacqueline L Angel

Jacqueline L Angel

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
jangel@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2956

Expertise: Hispanic health and demographics; aging policy; social policies with respect to diversity; long-term care; cultural diversity; ethnic studies

William H Beardall

William H Beardall

Clinical Professor, School of Law
bbeardall@equaljusticecenter.org
+1 512 474 0007

Expertise: Wage rights and policy; Low-wage workers; Immigrant workers; Guest workers; Immigrant worker rights and issues; Immigration reform; Legal aid for low-income persons; Public interest law; Law school clinics

Victoria M Defrancesco

Victoria M Defrancesco

Lecturer, Department of Mexican American and Latino/a Studies, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
vmdsoto@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: U.S. Politics; Political Behavior; Immigration; Hispanic Interest; race; gender; religion; ethnicity; Latino immigrants; women in politics; political psychology; campaigns; elections

Ariel E Dulitzky

Ariel E Dulitzky

Clinical Professor, School of Law
adulitzky@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1256

Expertise: International human rights law, Latin America

Denise L Gilman

Denise L Gilman

Clinical Professor, School of Law
dgilman@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7796

Expertise: Denise Gilman teaches and directs the Immigration Clinic after having joined the clinical faculty at the University of Texas Law School in the fall of 2007. Professor Gilman received her undergraduate degree with honors in political science from Northwestern University. She received her law degree from Columbia University School of Law where she served on the Law Review. Professor Gilman also has an LLM from Georgetown University Law Center. Professor Gilman clerked for Judge Thomas M. Reavley, at the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit. She is fluent in Spanish.

Gloria  Gonzalez-Lopez

Gloria Gonzalez-Lopez

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
gloria@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6343

Expertise: Sociology of Gender and Sexuality; Migration Studies; Sexual Violence; Masculinities; Sociology of Family Life; Qualitative Methodologies; Gender issues, Family relationships

Frederick G Hensey

Frederick G Hensey

Professor Emeritus, Department of Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts
f.hensey@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4531

Expertise: Linguistics; translation and interpretation theory; language in public life; language

Martha  Menchaca

Martha Menchaca

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
mmen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7537

Expertise: Social anthropology, ethnicity, gender, oral history/oral traditions, legal anthropology, immigration, Chicano studies: US/Mexican culture, Latin America, and Mexico-Neoliberalism

Ranjana  Natarajan

Ranjana Natarajan

Clinical Professor, School of Law
rnatarajan@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7222

Sharmila  Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Director, Academic Program, Center for Asian American Studies, College of Liberal Arts
rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6310

Expertise: Race, Ethnicity, Gender, Labor, Immigration

Elissa C Steglich

Elissa C Steglich

Clinical Professor, School of Law
esteglich@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1387

Expertise: immigration and citizenship law, immigrant's rights

Luis  Urrieta

Luis Urrieta

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
urrieta@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Methodologies and Educational Research; Citizenship and Social Studies Education; Migration; Cultural Pedagogies in Education