Browse by Subject


Search results for "film"

 


Nanette  Acosta

Nanette Acosta

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
nanette.acosta@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0641, +1 512 471 0642

Expertise: costumes, costume design, undergraduate teaching, recruitment, theatrical design, theatre design, film design

Ricardo C Ainslie

Ricardo C Ainslie

M. K. Hage Centennial Professor in Education, Counseling Psychology, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
rainslie@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0364, +1 512 471 4407

Expertise: Explores the intersection of psychology and culture through such topics as the psychological experience of immigration, ethnic conflicts and the impact of violence within communities, and the relationship between individual and collective identity. Is also interested in US-Mexico health, including addressing health disparities.

Miguel Alvarez

Miguel Alvarez

Assistant Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
migalvarez@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Production; screenwriting; digital media; narrative filmmaking; documentary filmmaking; directing; editing/post-production

Brendon Bankey

Brendon Bankey

Assistant Professor of Instruction, Department of Communication Studies, Moody College of Communication
brendon.bankey@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: The role of Clint Eastwood and his films in the Nixon administration's re-election efforts and the New Right conservative movement

Benjamin L Bays

Benjamin L Bays

Associate Professor of Instruction, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
benjamin.bays@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Animation, comics, cartoons, video games, visual effects, digital media

Mary Beltran

Mary Beltran

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
mary.beltran@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0021, +1 608 320 9041

Expertise: U.S. Latina/o media studies; the U.S. media industries; mixed race and media culture; U.S. television and film history; feminist media studies; media activism and independent media production

Charles E Berg

Charles E Berg

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
charles.ramirezberg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9925

Expertise: Latinos in US films; film history; narratology; Mexican cinema

Lance  Bertelsen

Lance Bertelsen

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
lberte@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8769

Expertise: Eighteenth-century British literature and culture; representations of World War II in literature, film and journalism

Paola  Bonifazio

Paola Bonifazio

Department Chair, French and Italian, College of Liberal Arts
pbonifazio@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1561

Expertise: Italian Cinema; Italian Media History; documentary film history and theory; Gender and Sexuality Studies; feminist theories; media convergence and transmedia storytelling; popular culture

Douglas S Bruster

Douglas S Bruster

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
bruster@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3635

Expertise: Shakespeare; drama; English Renaissance literature; film; theory

Kirsten  Cather

Kirsten Cather

Associate Professor, Department of Asian Studies, College of Liberal Arts
kcather@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: modern Japanese literature and film; censorship, suicide, and death in modern Japan; adaptations; translation theory and practice

Elizabeth  Cullingford

Elizabeth Cullingford

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
cullingford@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4991

Expertise: Only children, Irish literature, politics, and culture; modern poetry; women's studies; drama and film; Shakespeare; the relation between high and popular culture

James Dalthorp

James Dalthorp

Assistant Professor of Practice, Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations, Moody College of Communication
james.dalthorp@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: NIL; sports communication; strategic branding

Katherine Dawson

Katherine Dawson

Professor of Practice, School of Journalism and Media, Moody College of Communication
katedawson@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6111

Expertise: journalism; news; television news; broadcast journalism; news production; documentary film; broadcast news writing; radio reporting; television producing

Hector  Dominguez-Ruvalcaba

Hector Dominguez-Ruvalcaba

Professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts
ruvalcaba@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4936
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Queer studies; violence; border studies in literature, film, and the arts

John G Ekerdt

John G Ekerdt

Professor and Dick Rothwell Endowed Chair in Chemical Engineering, Department of Chemical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
ekerdt@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4689

Expertise: Dr. Ekerdt's research is on the surface, growth and materials chemistry of metal, dielectric, ferroelectric, and polymer thin films. We seek to understand and describe nucleation and growth of films and nanostructures, their structure-property relationships, and site-specific reactions that lead to their formation. The programs are motivated by applications in electronic materials, energy and sensors. The research programs are highly interdisciplinary and involve collaborations with faculty in chemical engineering, physics and electrical engineering, and researchers in industry.

Mirasol  Enriquez

Mirasol Enriquez

Assistant Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
mirasol.enriquez@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: U.S.-based Latina filmmakers; media production culture; Chicana/o film; representations of race and gender in media

Caroline Frick

Caroline Frick

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
cfrick@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: film/media preservation; digital libraries; media history; moving image archiving; online streaming platforms

Kathryn  Fuller

Kathryn Fuller

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
kathy.fullerseeley@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: silent film history; radio history; US cultural history; 1960s history; comedy and humor

James  Gabrillo

James Gabrillo

Assistant Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
james.gabrillo@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: pop music, digital technologies, film and television, multimedia, Philippines

Lalitha  Gopalan

Lalitha Gopalan

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
lalitha.gopalan@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4071

Expertise: Film theory; feminist film theory; contemporary world cinemas; Indian cinema; genre films; experimental film and video

Joshua Gunn

Joshua Gunn

Professor, Department of Communication Studies, Moody College of Communication
josh_gunn@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3933, +1 512 471 5251

Expertise: Ineffable communication; signs and symbols; Marxism; psychoanalysis; critical theory

Paul S Ho

Paul S Ho

Professor and Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering No. 5, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
hops@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Thin films and interfaces in microelectronics materials; Reliability of interconnect and packaging structures; Polymer films and metal-polymer interfaces

Rui  Huang

Rui Huang

Professor, Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics, Cockrell School of Engineering
ruihuang@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7558

Expertise: Mechanics of integrated materials and structures at micro and nano scales; Reliability of advanced interconnects and packaging for microelectronics; Mechanical instability of thin films and nanostructures; Multiscale modeling and simulations.

Noah  Isenberg

Noah Isenberg

Associate Dean for Professional Programs, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
noah.isenberg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6680, +1 917 689 6453

Expertise: media studies; industry/history/criticism; identity and representation; classical Hollywood; independent cinema; Weimar cinema; Émigrés in Hollywood

Keith P Johnston

Keith P Johnston

Professor, McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering
kpj@che.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4617

Expertise: We utilize fundamental concepts in colloid and interface science, materials chemistry, nanotechnology, and polymer science to design, synthesize, and characterize materials for advanced performance in energy, pharmaceutical, and biomedical applications. We focus on Advanced Functional Nanomaterials: functionalization of metals and metal oxide/polymer systems Nanoparticle Interactions with Liquid and Solid Interfaces: engineered interfacial interactions in solids and oil/water and gas/water systems Nanocluster Self Assembly Platform for Enhanced Properties: protein nanoclusters, photonic NIR gold nanoclusters, metal oxides for subsurface imaging and catalysis

Stuart Kelban

Stuart Kelban

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
skelban@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6037

Expertise: screenwriting; television; film industry

Donna M Kornhaber

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
donna.kornhaber@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8392

Desiderio  Kovar

Desiderio Kovar

Professor, Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering
dekovar@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5185

Expertise: Production and characterization of nanoparticles; Nanostructured thick films; Solid oxide fuel cells; Honeycomb ceramics

Shanti  Kumar

Shanti Kumar

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
shanti.kumar@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3498

Expertise: Global media; cultural studies

Amy Lasser

Amy Lasser

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
amy.lasser@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Screenwriting, film production

Richard Lewis

Richard Lewis

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
rmlewis@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 6849

Expertise: Writer; producer; director; screenwriter

Anne  Lewis

Anne Lewis

Professor of Practice, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
alewis615@utexas.edu
+1 512 656 0507

Expertise: Documentary filmmaking

Madhavi  Mallapragada

Madhavi Mallapragada

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
madhavim@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9239

Expertise: Media; race and media; immigration; Asian Americans; digital culture; virtual identities; South Asian diaspora

Jennifer  McClearen

Jennifer McClearen

Assistant Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
jennifer.mcclearen@utexas.edu

Expertise: feminist media; gender, race and sexuality in sports media; women's sports

Cynthia Mccreery

Cynthia Mccreery

Department Chair, Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
cindy.mccreery@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0013

Expertise: Screenwriting

Curran J Nault

Curran J Nault

Assistant Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
cnault@utexas.edu

Expertise: grassroots queer transmedia

Korey A Pereira

Korey A Pereira

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
korey.pereira@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7829

Expertise: Film sound; post-production sound; sound mixing; audio for video games

Domino R Perez

Domino R Perez

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
drperez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7853, +1 512 471 4557

Expertise: Chican@ literature; American literature; popular culture; cultural studies; film

Jorge Perez Perez

Jorge Perez Perez

Department Chair, Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts
jorgep@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4549
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: 20th and 21st century Spanish cinema, novel, and popular culture; queer culture and theory; Latin American cinema; fashion; costume design; Pedro Almodovar; Penelope Cruz; celebrity culture; Chanel

Alisa H Perren

Alisa H Perren

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
aperren@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1524

Expertise: business of Hollywood; TV and film production; distribution and exhibition; talent management/representation; streaming services; American comic book industry; history/contemporary indie film sector

PJ  Raval

PJ Raval

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
pjraval@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4071

Expertise: filmmaker; subcultures and identities

Cory A Reed

Cory A Reed

Associate Professor, Department of Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts
creed@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4936

Expertise: Cervantes, Spanish Drama, Early Modern Mediterranean World, Transatlantic Studies, Cognitive Studies, and Comparative Literature

Justin T Samuel

Justin T Samuel

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy, College of Education
jsamuel@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 9756

Expertise: Centers research on college student identity development, personal branding for student leaders, and work/life integration for student affairs administrators

Nancy  Schiesari

Nancy Schiesari

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
nancy.schiesari@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6678

Expertise: production; narrative filmmaking; documentary filmmaking; cinematography; producing

Suzanne  Scott

Suzanne Scott

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
suzanne.scott@utexas.edu

Expertise: fan culture (emphasis on fan/industry relations, gender and fan identities); digital and participatory cultures; transmedia storytelling and franchising; comic book culture; fan convention;

Mukul M Sharma

Mukul M Sharma

Professor, Hildebrand Department of Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering
msharma@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3161, +1 512 471 3257

Expertise: Formation damage; Petrophysics; Fluid flow in porous media; Hydraulic fracturing

Andrew Shea

Andrew Shea

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
andrew.shea@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5303

Expertise: director; screenwriter; producer; documentary filmmaker

Ya'Ke Smith

Ya'Ke Smith

Associate Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
yake@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: social cinema; independent cinema; storytelling; television writing and directing; directing actors

Matthew R Smith

Matthew R Smith

Assistant Professor of Practice, Department of Arts and Entertainment Technologies
matt.smith@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5327

Expertise: Lighting Design, Projection Design, 3D Projection Mapping, and Media Management

Iliana  Sosa

Iliana Sosa

Assistant Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
iliana.sosa@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Filmmaking; documentary filmmaking

Janet Staiger

Janet Staiger

Professor Emeritus, Department of Radio-Television-Film, Moody College of Communication
jstaiger@utexas.edu

Expertise: Theoretician and historian of American film and television

Joseph  Straubhaar

Joseph Straubhaar

Professor Emeritus, School of Journalism and Media, Moody College of Communication
jdstraubhaar@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Global media; digital media; digital divide

Pauline T Strong

Pauline T Strong

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
pstrong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8524, +1 512 471 9056

Expertise: Cultural, historical, feminist anthropology; Identity and difference; Politics of representation; Public culture; Youth organizations; Museum studies; Public humanities; Medical humanities; US, Indigenous North America.

Sharon Strover

Sharon Strover

Professor, School of Journalism and Media, Moody College of Communication
sharon.strover@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6652

Expertise: The Information Society; telecommunications policy, including telephone cable and satellite systems; international cultural policy with respect to film and television; and the digital divide.

Lisa B Thompson

Lisa B Thompson

Professor, African and African Diaspora Studies Department, College of Liberal Arts
lbthompson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4656

Expertise: African American Literature, Film, Cultural Studies, Black Feminist Theory, Contemporary Black Theatre and Performance

Scott W Tinker

Scott W Tinker

Director, Bureau of Economic Geology, Jackson School of Geosciences
scott.tinker@beg.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0209, +1 512 471 1534

Expertise: Global energy supply and demand, Technology Administration, Multidisciplinary reservoir characterization, Carbonate sedimentology, Sequence stratigraphy, 3-D reservoir modeling, Resource assessment.

Craig Watkins

Craig Watkins

Professor, School of Journalism and Media, Moody College of Communication
craig.watkins@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4071, +1 512 471 6676

Expertise: Race and pop culture; youth culture; digital media and social media; hip-hop culture and music; video games; the history of Black American cinema and the films of Spike Lee; digital media; young people and behaviors with social and online media.