Browse by Subject


Search results for "cultural diversity"

 


D. Michelle  Addington

D. Michelle Addington

Dean, School of Architecture
addington@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Sustainability; Smart Materials; Building Physics; Lighting; History of Building Technology; Leadership

Charles O Anderson

Charles O Anderson

Associate Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
charles.o.anderson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 215 983 6383

Expertise: African Diaspora and African American (Black) vernacular and concert dance history, Black dance aesthetics, Afrocentric dance pedagogy, choreography and dance composition, contemporary dance, Afrofuturism, critical race theory in dance, dance, history, ethnic studies.

Jacqueline L Angel

Jacqueline L Angel

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
jangel@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2956

Expertise: Hispanic health and demographics; aging policy; social policies with respect to diversity; long-term care; cultural diversity; ethnic studies

Flávio S Azevedo

Flávio S Azevedo

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
flavio@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Investigates interest-based participation in STEM disciplines in classrooms and extra-curricular activities.

Deborah A Bolnick

Deborah A Bolnick

Research Affiliate - Sr Research Fellow, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
deborah.bolnick@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 2781, +1 512 471 7532

Expertise: Anthropological genetics and genomics, ancient DNA, Native American population history, human population genetics, human biological variation, race, paleoepigenetics, ethical/legal/social implications of genetic research, biology

Anthony L Brown

Anthony L Brown

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
alb@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3902

Expertise: Focuses on historical and contemporary issues and discourses concerning African American students in schools and society.

Cindy I Carlson

Cindy I Carlson

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
ccarlson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4155

Expertise: Active in current healthcare reform endeavors, studies integrated behavioral health, attachment theory, and consultation theories and processes such as home-school partnership and family-centered treatment.

Kevin O Cokley

Kevin O Cokley

Director of the Institute for Urban Policy Research and Analysis, College of Liberal Arts
kcokley@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7498

Expertise: Researches themes related to understanding the psychological and environmental factors that impact African American student achievement, and the impact of the impostor phenomenon in academic and mental health outcomes.

North Cooc

North Cooc

Assistant Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
ncooc@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7923

Expertise: Explores how family background, culture, and school contextual factors influence decisions and trajectory outcomes within special education.

Mercedes L De Uriarte

Mercedes L De Uriarte

Associate Professor Emeritus, School of Journalism, Moody College of Communication
merlyn@utexas.edu

Expertise: Minorities and media; U.S. foreign coverage; U.S. crisis coverage of Latin America; newsroom diversity; history of U.S. press; feminism

Karen L Fingerman

Karen L Fingerman

Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
kfingerman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0618

Expertise: adolescene and young adulthood, adult development, aging, diversity and culture, interpersonal relationships, parenting and caregiving

Rowena  Fong

Rowena Fong

Professor, School of Social Work
rfong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1393

Expertise: Adoption, child welfare, international adoptions from China, Chinese-American children and families.

Christina Fragale

Christina Fragale

Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
tinafragale@gmail.com

Expertise: Works with culturally diverse individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders to assess and treat challenging behavior.

Benjamin G Gregg

Benjamin G Gregg

Associate Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
bgregg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7274

Expertise: Democracy, Rule of Law, Human Rights, Political Theory, Social Theory, Bioethics, Genetic Manipulation of Humans

Jennifer J Holme

Jennifer J Holme

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy, College of Education
jholme@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Focuses on the politics and implementation of educational policy with an emphasis on school reform, equity and diversity in schools.

Peniel E Joseph

Peniel E Joseph

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
peniel.joseph@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7241

Expertise: Africana studies, women's studies, ethnic studies, law, society, political science.

Wei-Na  Lee

Wei-Na Lee

Professor, Stan Richards School of Advertising and Public Relations, Moody College of Communication
weina@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8149

Expertise: cross-cultural consumer behavior, multicultural marketing communication, consumer response to new media

Mark F O'Reilly

Mark F O'Reilly

Department Chair, Department of Special Education, College of Education
markoreilly@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Assesses and supports individuals with intellectual disabilities and develops social skill/communication interventions for children with ASD.

Francie Ostrower

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
fostrower@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5342

Expertise: Non-Profit Management and Governance Non-Profit Management, Philanthrophy

Sarah R Powell

Sarah R Powell

Associate Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
srpowell@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 6556

Expertise: Develops and tests interventions for students with mathematics difficulties, emphasizing word-problem solving, mathematics writing, and the vocabulary within math.

Soncia  Reagins-Lilly

Soncia Reagins-Lilly

Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
soncia.r.lilly@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1133

Expertise: Shares her expertise in higher education policy, administration and finance, strategic planning, and leadership development as the Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students.

Erin M Rodriguez

Erin M Rodriguez

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
erodriguez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0283

Expertise: Studies family, linguistic, and sociocultural influences on children's adaptation to stress, to better understand how family coping, language and communication, and sociocultural context impact children's mental and physical health outcomes.

Victor  Saenz

Victor Saenz

Department Chair, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy, College of Education
vsaenz@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7519, +1 512 471 7551
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Leads the Project MALES (Mentoring to Achieve Latino Educational Success Initiative focused on Latino males in education; seeks to advance research-informed policy solutions that enhance educational outcomes for underserved students in secondary and post-secondary education.

Allison  Skerrett

Allison Skerrett

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
askerrett@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4883

Expertise: Focuses on secondary English and literacy education in urban contexts, including among transnational youth.

Cherise  Smith

Cherise Smith

Associate Professor of Art and Art History and of African and African Diaspora Studies, African and African Diaspora Studies Department, College of Liberal Arts
cherise_smith@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1784

Expertise: African American Representation, Art and Visual Culture; the Identity Politics and Representation; The Intersection of Representation with Race and Gender; Performance and Conceptual Art Practices; Photography; American Art After 1945

Fatima A Varner

Fatima A Varner

Assistant Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
fvarner@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8580

Expertise: adolescene and young adulthood, human development, diversity and culture, parenting and caregiving

Michael  Webber

Michael Webber

Associate Professor, Cockrell School of Engineering
webber@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 6867

Expertise: Energy policy; Energy & Water; Alternative and renewable energy; Biofuels; Energy in Texas; Smart Grid; Power Sector

Christine L Williams

Christine L Williams

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
cwilliams@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6321

Expertise: gender, sexuality, workplace inequality, qualitative research methods, theory

Luis H Zayas

Luis H Zayas

Dean, School of Social Work
lzayas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1937
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Latino adolescents, suicide prevention, child and adolescent mental health, culturally competent interventions, immigration, minorities