Browse by Subject


Search results for "arts humanities"

 


Robert H Abzug

Robert H Abzug

Director, Schusterman Center for Jewish Studies, Schusterman Center for Jewish Studies, College of Liberal Arts
zug@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7240, +1 512 475 6178

Expertise: American Cultural and Intellectual History; American Jewish History and Culture; History of the Holocaust and Jewish Studies; History of Psychology; History of American Religion; History of Photography; Antebellum America; Psychology, Religion, Photography, American History

Ricardo C Ainslie

Ricardo C Ainslie

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
rainslie@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0364, +1 512 471 4407

Expertise: Dr. Ricardo Ainslie's work focuses on communities in the United States and Mexico that have experienced significant conflict, violence, and transformation, exploring broader questions about how communities absorb crises and how individuals and cultural groups live within them. A hallmark of his work is his use of media as a critical tool for conveying ideas and human experience.

Anthony  Alofsin

Anthony Alofsin

Professor, School of Architecture
alofsin@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7803

Expertise: Modern architecture; history of architecture; history of art; Frank Lloyd Wright

Charles E Berg

Charles E Berg

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, College of Communication
ramberg@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9925

Expertise: Film history, Latino images in film, Mexican cinema, screenwriting, narration in film and world cinema, film criticism, stereotyping.

Lance  Bertelsen

Lance Bertelsen

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
lberte@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8769

Expertise: Eighteenth-century British literature and culture; representations of World War II in literature, film and journalism

Douglas G Biow

Douglas G Biow

Director, Academic Program, Center for European Studies, College of Liberal Arts
biow@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7267

Expertise: cultural, literary, art, medical, diplomatic, and intellectual history of Renaissance Italy; masculinities; the history of individualism

Brian A Bremen

Brian A Bremen

Associate Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
bremen@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7842, +1 512 471 4991

Expertise: 20th Century American poetry and fiction; Digital Humanities; Literary Theory; Literature and Medicine; Narrative Medicine; Bibliotherapy; Modernism; 20th Century Popular Culture; Indie Music; Standardized Testing; Essay evaluation; Holistic Scoring; Admissions Essays

Jerome F Bump

Jerome F Bump

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
bump@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8747

Expertise: Gerard Manley Hopkins; Alice books; Victorian literature; literature of nature; animal humanities; digital humanities; computers and English studies, including social networking and multi-player online games; social media

John R Clarke

John R Clarke

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
j.clarke@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2355

Expertise: Ancient Greek and Roman art and architecture; classical archaeology; digital modeling; contemporary art and criticism; gender studies; art-historical methodology; cultural studies

Richard L Cleary

Professor, School of Architecture
cleary@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6165

Expertise: Architectural history; architecture

Elizabeth A Danze

Elizabeth A Danze

Dean (Interim), School of Architecture
edanze@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1922

Expertise: Contemporary architecture, equitable housing

Donald G Davis

Professor Emeritus, School of Information
dgdavis@ischool.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3806

Expertise: Texas American World Library History; History of Books Archives and Libraries; Collection Development in Libraries; Church History

James R Denbow

James R Denbow

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
jdenbow@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8512

Expertise: Archaeology; ethnoarchaeology; rock art; Later Stone Age and Iron Age studies in Southern and Central Africa; African history; African cultures; African languages; Kalahari desert; Congo prehistory; African Iron Age and Neolithic studies

Robert A Desimone

Robert A Desimone

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
rdesimone@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9408, +1 512 471 7764

Expertise: Stage director, opera, musical theater; opera coach; conductor

Randy L Diehl

Randy L Diehl

Dean, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
diehl@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4141

Expertise: Speech perception and production; phonetic theory; cognition, speech and hearing, language

Robin W Doughty

Robin W Doughty

Professor Emeritus, Department of Geography and the Environment, College of Liberal Arts
rdoughty@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1591, +1 512 471 5116

Expertise: Cultural Geography; Environmental Resource Management; Landscape Ecology and Biogeography

Robert A Duke

Robert A Duke

Professor and University Distinguished Teaching Professor, Elizabeth Shatto Massey Distinguished Fellow in Teacher Education, Director of the Center for Music Learning, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
bobduke@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0972, +1 512 475 8812

Expertise: Human learning and behavior; procedural memory consolidation; skill learning

Veit F Erlmann

Veit F Erlmann

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
erlmann@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2092

Expertise: Ethnomusicology; African culture

Richard R Flores

Richard R Flores

Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Liberal Arts
flores@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9209, +1 512 471 4141
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Cultural theory; anthropology of performance; folklore and expressive culture; Mexican American history and culture; Mexican American studies; critical theory; public history of the Alamo; race and ethnicity; critical race theory; cultural citizenship; cultural studies

Roy L Flukinger

Roy L Flukinger

Senior Research Curator, Reader and Viewer Services, Harry Huntt Ransom Humanities Research Center
fluke@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6793

Expertise: Photography; history of photography; photography and the humanities; art & art history; photohistory; photography & fine arts; photojournalism; photographic preservation; visual communications; management of visual archives

William P Glade

William P Glade

Professor Emeritus, Department of Economics, College of Liberal Arts
glade@eco.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3211

Expertise: Economic development in Latin America; comparative economics; economics of the arts and cultural policy; international cultural relations; international business; banking; money

F  Gonzalez-Lima

F Gonzalez-Lima

Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
gonzalezlima@utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8497
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Neuroscience, neuroanatomy, neurobiology, physiological psychology, psychobiology, learning and memory, brain energy modulation, and neural mechanisms of behavior, transcranial laser stimulation of human cognitive and emotional functions

David B Gracy

David B Gracy

Professor Emeritus, School of Information
gracy@ischool.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8291

Expertise: Archival administration, records management, preservation administration; issues relating to broad domain of documentary heritage of civilization; Texas history (various periods)

Don B Graham

Don B Graham

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
dgbb@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8387

Expertise: Southwestern American literature; Australian literature and film; American literature; Texas literature; Texas culture; Texas film

Benjamin G Gregg

Benjamin G Gregg

Associate Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
bgregg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7274

Expertise: Democracy, Rule of Law, Human Rights, Political Theory, Social Theory, Bioethics, Genetic Manipulation of Humans

Ian F Hancock

Ian F Hancock

Professor, Department of Linguistics, College of Liberal Arts
xulaj@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7684, +1 512 471 1701

Expertise: Romani (Gypsy) language (origins, history, civil rights movement); creolization of language; English (dialects, history, spread overseas), language and identity

Mark D Hayward

Mark D Hayward

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
mhayward@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8382

Expertise: Population and Life Course and Aging, Morbidity and Mortality, and Biodemography, Social Epidemiology, Quantitative Methods and Dynamic Models, Life Table Techniques, Death and Dying

John M Hoberman

John M Hoberman

Professor, Department of Germanic Studies, College of Liberal Arts
hoberman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6368

Expertise: European cultural and intellectual history with special interests in Sportwissenschaft and the history of ideas about race; Scandinavian studies; Norwegian language instruction; history of Jewish racial folklore; Olympics; Sports doping; race relations

Heather  Houser

Heather Houser

Associate Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
houserh@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8766

Expertise: 20th- and 21st-century Anglophone fiction (US focus); environmental literature and criticism; science, technology, and culture; the medical humanities; affect studies; data in narrative and new media

Aletha C Huston

Aletha C Huston

Professor Emeritus, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
achuston@utexas.edu

Expertise: Child Development; poverty and child policy; child care; television influences on children

Judith A Jellison

Judith A Jellison

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
jjellison@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7764, +1 512 471 0743

Expertise: Elementary music education; music and children with disabilities; observation and evaluation in classroom/rehearsals; music in special education and therapy

Cory F Juhl

Professor, Department of Philosophy, College of Liberal Arts
juhl@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4944

Expertise: Philosophy of science; philosophy of mind; logic, philosophy of religion, formal learning theory

Ward W Keeler

Ward W Keeler

Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
ward.keeler@gmail.com
+1 512 471 8520

Expertise: Anthropology and expressive culture (performing arts and literature); hierarchy; gender; Buddhism; Indonesia and Burma

Janice  Leoshko

Janice Leoshko

Associate Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
jleoshko@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2581

Expertise: Asian art history; Asian culture; Indian and Tibetan religions, Arts & Humanities.

Christopher A Long

Professor, School of Architecture
chrlong@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4084

Expertise: Modern Architecture; history and theory of central European architecture; history of Central Europe; cultural history; Arts & Humanities

Beto Lopez

Beto Lopez

Managing Director, Design Institute for Health, The Design Institute for Health, Dell Medical School
beto.lopez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5088
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: design, systems thinking, sustainable development, business strategy, rapid prototyping

Richard P Meier

Richard P Meier

Department Chair, Department of Linguistics, College of Liberal Arts
rmeier@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9031, +1 512 471 1701

Expertise: Child language development; sign languages; American Sign Language; acquisition of American Sign language by deaf children

Steven A Moore

Steven A Moore

Professor, School of Architecture
samoore@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0184

Expertise: Sustainable architecture; science and technology studies; politics of technology; philosophy of technology; history of technology

Loriene  Roy

Loriene Roy

Professor, School of Information
loriene@ischool.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3959

Expertise: Library development in Native American communities; creation of virtual museums of Native American artifacts; literacy efforts in Native American communities; library collection development and evaluation; oral tradition; organizing gatherings of indigenous librarians worldwide

Elizabeth Scala

Elizabeth Scala

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
scala@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8375

Expertise: Chaucer; the history of Chaucer studies; the textual environments of medieval literature; Medieval Literature; Medieval Romance; Bibliography and Textual Studies; Literary Theory; Women, Gender, and Literature; Food Writing

Thomas G Schatz

Thomas G Schatz

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, College of Communication
tschatz@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5987

Expertise: Film and television history and criticism; media industry studies (history, economics, etc.); Hollywood studios and the ''studio system''; film genre

Wayne C Schiess

Wayne C Schiess

Senior Lecturer, School of Law
wschiess@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1333

Expertise: Legal writing; legal research; drafting; plain language

Joel F Sherzer

Joel F Sherzer

Professor Emeritus, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
jsherzer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4206

Expertise: Linguistic anthropology, ethnography of speaking, archival and documentary linguistics; North and South America

Jeffrey C Smith

Jeffrey C Smith

Professor, Department of Art and Art History, College of Fine Arts
chipps@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2609

Expertise: Expertise: Art history; culture of Northern Europe 1350-1700, Arts & Humanities.

David S Sokolow

David S Sokolow

Distinguished Senior Lecturer, School of Law
dsokolow@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1379

Expertise: Contract law, corporate law, entertainment law, art law

Pauline T Strong

Pauline T Strong

Director, Humanities Institute, Humanities Institute, College of Liberal Arts, College of Liberal Arts
pstrong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8524, +1 512 471 9056

Expertise: Cultural, historical, feminist anthropology; Identity and difference; Politics of representation; Public culture; Youth organizations; Museum studies; Public humanities; Medical humanities; US, Indigenous North America.

Sharon L Strover

Sharon L Strover

Professor, Department of Radio-Television-Film, College of Communication
sharon.strover@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6652

Expertise: The Information Society; telecommunications policy, including telephone cable and satellite systems; international cultural policy with respect to film and television; and the digital divide.

Hirofumi  Tanaka

Hirofumi Tanaka

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
htanaka@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4801, +1 512 471 1273

Janice (Jan) S Todd

Janice (Jan) S Todd

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
j.todd@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0993, +1 512 471 0995

Expertise: Women and Sport; weightlifting bodybuilding women and exercise history of physical culture; Arts & Humanities

John M Weinstock

John M Weinstock

Professor Emeritus, Department of Germanic Studies, College of Liberal Arts
weinstock@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 563 9908, +1 512 471 4123

Expertise: Sámi culture and civilization, history of skiing, promotion of Scandinavian Studies in the U.S., Norwegian Language and Literature, Scandinavian Music, Scandinavian Linguistics, Old Norse Language and Literature, General and Historical Linguistics, Scandinavian Music

Dan E Welcher

Dan E Welcher

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
dwelcher1@me.com
+1 512 471 0943

Expertise: Music composition, Arts & Humanities.

Darlene C Wiley

Darlene C Wiley

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
dwiley@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7764

Expertise: Voice; German; vocal pedagogy, Arts & Humanities.

Samuel M Wilson

Samuel M Wilson

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
s.wilson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4206

Expertise: Anthropology of culture contact; prehistory and history; indigenous people of the Caribbean; culture; complex societies; digital technology and its impact on human societies; Arts and Humanities

Anthony C Woodbury

Anthony C Woodbury

Professor, Department of Linguistics, College of Liberal Arts
woodbury@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1701

Expertise: Chatino linguistics and language preservation, Documentation and preservation of endangered languages, Eskimo-Aleut languages and speech communities, Natural discourse and verbal art, Tone, prosody and intonation, Grammatical analysis and theory