Browse by Subject


Search results for "africa"

 


Kamran  Ali

Kamran Ali

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
asdar@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7531, +1 512 471 3550

Expertise: Gender; health; development; labor history; political movements (including Islamic groups); Political Economy; post-colonialism; urban social histories, popular culture; historiography; memory; liberalism; Middle East; South Asia

Karl W Butzer

Karl W Butzer

Professor, Department of Geography and the Environment, College of Liberal Arts
karl.butzer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5116

Expertise: Geo-archaeology, ethnicity and place, sustainability, Colonial Mexico, Africa

Mounira M Charrad

Mounira M Charrad

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
charrad@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6311, +1 512 232 6300

Expertise: Gender; Womens Rights; Islam and Family Law; States and Citizenship; Middle East; North Africa; political sociology; development; and comparative historical methodology

Kerry H Cook

Kerry H Cook

Professor, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences
kc@jsg.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7931

Expertise: Climate dynamics, atmospheric dynamics, global climate change, paleoclimate, climate and weather of Africa and South America, climate system modeling, climate change in Texas

James R Denbow

James R Denbow

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
jdenbow@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8512

Expertise: Archaeology; ethnoarchaeology; rock art; Later Stone Age and Iron Age studies in Southern and Central Africa; African history; African cultures; African languages; Kalahari desert; Congo prehistory; African Iron Age and Neolithic studies

Steven  Dietz

Steven Dietz

Professor, Department of Theatre and Dance, College of Fine Arts
sjdietz@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 5311

Expertise: Playwriting, Directing, New Play Development, Adaptation, Theatre for Youth

Veit F Erlmann

Veit F Erlmann

Professor, Sarah and Ernest Butler School of Music, College of Fine Arts
erlmann@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2092

Expertise: Ethnomusicology; African culture

William E Forbath

William E Forbath

Professor, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
wforbath@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1326

Expertise: Constitutional history, legal history, social and economic rights in courts, social movements of Africa, Texas low-income housing

Frederick G Hensey

Frederick G Hensey

Professor Emeritus, Department of Spanish and Portuguese, College of Liberal Arts
f.hensey@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4531

Expertise: Linguistics; translation and interpretation theory; language in public life

Jim V Hoffman

Jim V Hoffman

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
jhoffman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4041

Expertise: My interests focus on three areas: (1) Teacher preparation, (2) The classroom literacy environment, and (3) Promoting literacy achievement in developing countries. Methods: Descriptive, correlational, experimental, content analysis, program evaluation.

Martin P Jackson

Martin P Jackson

Senior Research Scientist, Bureau of Economic Geology, Jackson School of Geosciences
martin.jackson@beg.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 9548, +1 512 471 1534

Expertise: Salt tectonics, tectonics of sedimentary basins, evolution of divergent and convergent continental margins, rheology of evaporites, and geology of Mars.

John W Kappelman

John W Kappelman

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
jkappelman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0055

Expertise: Evolutionary history of primates and especially hominoid evolution and hominid origins, paleoecology, functional morphology, stratigraphy, paleomagnetism, and computer imaging

Vijay  Mahajan

Vijay Mahajan

Professor, Department of Marketing, McCombs School of Business
vijay.mahajan@mccombs.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1128, +1 512 471 0840

Expertise: Product diffusion; marketing strategy; marketing research methodologies; business.

Mark  Regnerus

Mark Regnerus

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
regnerus@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6307

Expertise: Sociology of Religion; Family; Adolescence; Sexuality; HIV/AIDS in Africa; Human Motivation

Timothy M Shanahan

Timothy M Shanahan

Assistant Professor, Department of Geological Sciences, Jackson School of Geosciences
tshanahan@jsg.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7051

Expertise: Paleoclimatology, paleoceanography, paleolimnology, sedimentary geology and geochemistry, organic geochemistry, isotope geochemistry, compound-specific stable isotope analysis

Bill  Tierney

Bill Tierney

Professor of Population Health, Department of Population Health, , Dell Medical School
tierney@utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5006

Kristopher  Wilson

Kristopher Wilson

Senior Lecturer, School of Journalism, College of Communication
kris.wilson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4975

Expertise: Environmental Journalism, Climate Change, Global Warming, Weather, Broadcast News, Media Convergence