Browse by Subject


Search results for "adolescents"

 


Steven  Abrams

Steven Abrams

Professor, Biomedical Engineering, Cockrell School of Engineering
sabrams@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 4700

Expertise: pediatrics, mineral requirements of children of all ages, growth of preterm infants and the use of specialized nutritional practices,

Sarah Kate Bearman

Sarah Kate Bearman

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
skbearman@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Research focuses on the dissemination and implementation of empirically supported practices (ESPs) for children with disruptive behavior, trauma, anxiety and depression in community settings.

Aprile D Benner

Aprile D Benner

Associate Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
abenner@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1964

Expertise: Human development; adolescence and young childhood; social, emotional, and cognitive growth and maturation of young people

Molly S Bray

Molly S Bray

Department Chair, Department of Nutritional Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
mbray@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3958

Expertise: Child and Adolescent Health, Epigenetics, Health & Medicine, Nutritional Sciences

Rebecca M Callahan

Rebecca M Callahan

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy, College of Education
callahan@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8347
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Bilingual Education, immigrant adolescents' academic preparation, language minority students and students identified with learning disabilities in the STEM pipeline, language policy in education, immigrant adolescents' civic development, the transition to young adulthood among immigrants; minorities, adolescents, education

Cindy I Carlson

Cindy I Carlson

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
ccarlson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4155

Expertise: Active in current healthcare reform endeavors, studies integrated behavioral health, attachment theory, and consultation theories and processes such as home-school partnership and family-centered treatment.

Darla M Castelli

Darla M Castelli

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
dcastelli@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7636

Expertise: Studies the relationship between physical activity and cognitive performance in children and adolescents.

Shannon E Cavanagh

Shannon E Cavanagh

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
scavanagh@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8319

Expertise: Family Demography, Life Course & Human Development, Gender, Interpersonal Relationships, Adolescents, Family relationships

Jane D Champion

Jane D Champion

Professor, School of Nursing
jdchampion@mail.nur.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8208

Expertise: STI/HIV, substance abuse, adolescent and women's health, unintended pregnancy, interpersonal violence

Jessica A Church-Lang

Jessica A Church-Lang

ASST PROFESSOR, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
church@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 7009

Expertise: Brain networks, development of task control, development of reading, developmental disorders, neuroimaging

North Cooc

North Cooc

Assistant Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
ncooc@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7923

Expertise: Racial and ethnic disproportionality, quantitative research methods, Asian Americans in education, summer literacy interventions, culture and diversity

Robert  Crosnoe

Robert Crosnoe

Department Chair, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
crosnoe@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8329

Expertise: Life Course & Human Development, Children & Youth, Education, Health, Family, Immigration, Adolescents.

Jaimie N Davis

Jaimie N Davis

Associate Professor, Department of Nutritional Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
jaimie.davis@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0971

Expertise: child and adolescent health, nutritional sciences, obesity, behaviour

Michele Y Deitch

Michele Y Deitch

Senior Lecturer, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
michele.deitch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2562, +1 512 296 7212

Expertise: juvenile justice; prison reform; crime and criminal justice

Toni Falbo

Toni Falbo

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
toni@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0603, +1 512 471 8020

Expertise: Studies the outcomes of sibling status on human development and educational attainment, and examines the effects of China's one-child policy on the personalities of Chinese children and adults.

Cynthia G Franklin

Cynthia G Franklin

Associate Dean for Doctoral Education, School of Social Work
cfranklin@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0533

Expertise: School mental health, Solution-focused Brief Therapy, dropout prevention, at-risk youth, research on how to design schools that promote achievement and a safe, respectful and violent free culture.

Elizabeth T Gershoff

Elizabeth T Gershoff

Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
liz.gershoff@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4800

Expertise: Child and youth development; adolescence; parenting; parental discipline; violence; early childhood education

Barbara L Jones

Barbara L Jones

Associate Dean for Health Affairs, School of Social Work
barbarajones@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 9367

Expertise: Palliative care, pediatric oncology, cancer survivors, adolescent and young adult oncology, interprofessional education, medical social work, integrated behavioral health, medical ethics

William R Kelly

William R Kelly

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts
wkelly@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4142

Expertise: Criminal Justice/Criminology/Ecology of Crime, Program and Policy Research and Evaluation, Research Methodology and Statistics

Su Yeong  Kim

Su Yeong Kim

Professor, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
projectfamily@gmail.com
+1 512 471 5524, +1 512 475 6014

Expertise: Development of children of immigrants in the United States, with a focus on children of Chinese and Mexican origin; parenting; parent-child relationships

Leigh L Linden

Leigh L Linden

Associate Professor, Department of Economics, College of Liberal Arts
leigh.linden@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8556

Expertise: Economic development; poor countries; economics of education

Molly A Lopez

Molly A Lopez

Research Associate Professor, Center for Social Work Research, School of Social Work
mlopez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 0614

Expertise: mental health services, evidence-based practice, trauma-informed care, cognitive behavioral therapies, workforce competency, systems of care.

Alexandra  Loukas

Alexandra Loukas

Barbie M. and Gary L. Coleman Professor in Education, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
alexandra.loukas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 9388

Expertise: Focuses on adolescent and young adult problem behavior development, and tobacco use and cessation.

Julie  Maslowsky

Julie Maslowsky

Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
maslowsky@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 7190
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Researches and develops programs in adolescent health promotion, primarily substance abuse and pregnancy prevention.

Ruth G McRoy

Ruth G McRoy

Professor Emeritus, School of Social Work
r.mcroy@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0551

Expertise: Open adoptions, outcomes for birthmothers, adoptive parents and adopted children, trans-racial adoptions, family preservation, special needs adoptions, post adoption services, female sexual abuse perpetrators, racial identity issues, adolescent pregnancy, effectiveness of residential treatment services, adoption, same-sex couples

Kristin  Neff

Kristin Neff

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
kneff@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0382, +1 512 471 4155

Expertise: Researches the psychological health benefits of self-compassion, drawing from fields of social and personality psychology, developmental psychology, and clinical psychology.

Mark F O'Reilly

Mark F O'Reilly

Department Chair, Department of Special Education, College of Education
markoreilly@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Assessment and support of individuals with intellectual disabilities who exhibit challenging behavior. Social skill/communication interventions for children with ASD. Assistive technology for persons with profound multiple disabilities. He is a doctoral level Board Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA-D) and Licensed Behavior Analyst (LBA).

Cynthia  Osborne

Cynthia Osborne

Associate Dean, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
cosborne@prc.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 9808

Expertise: family demography, marriage; cohabitation, non-marital chilbearing, social policy, welfare, poverty, inequality, work/family balance, child well being

Keryn E Pasch

Keryn E Pasch

Associate Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
kpasch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 8295

Expertise: Examines the relation between media influence on adolescent risk behavior such as substance use, nutrition, sleep and energy drink consumption.

Sarah R Powell

Sarah R Powell

Associate Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
srpowell@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 6556

Expertise: Sarah R. Powell is an Associate Professor in the Department of Special Education. Powell is currently Principal Investigator (PI) of a four-year Institute of Education Sciences efficacy grant related to word problems and equation solving for third-grade students with mathematics difficulties. Powell is also PI of a five-year early numeracy and literacy read-alouds project funded by the T.L.L. Temple Foundation, co-PI of a National Science Foundation grant aimed at developing a science intervention for second-grade students with learning difficulties, and co-PI of an Office of Special Education Programs model demonstration grant for middle school algebra readiness. Powell was a National Academy of Education/Spencer Postdoctoral Fellow from 2014 to 2016 and a Faculty Fellow with the Greater Texas Foundation from 2014 to 2017. Powell's research interests include developing and testing interventions for students with mathematics difficulties, with a special emphasis on peer tutoring, word-problem solving, mathematics writing, and the symbols and vocabulary within mathematics.

Donna L Rew

Donna L Rew

Professor, School of Nursing, School of Nursing
ellerew@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7595, +1 512 471 7941

Expertise: Adolescent health, sexual health practices of homeless youth, sexual abuse and long-term sequelae, education for underserved populations, intuition in decision-making

Catherine  Riegle-Crumb

Catherine Riegle-Crumb

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
riegle@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2388, +1 512 475 8642

Erin M Rodriguez

Erin M Rodriguez

Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
erodriguez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0283

Expertise: Studies family, linguistic, and sociocultural influences on children's adaptation to stress, to better understand how family coping, language and communication, and sociocultural context impact children's mental and physical health outcomes.

Stephen T Russell

Stephen T Russell

Department Chair, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
stephen.russell@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0753, +1 512 471 8391

Expertise: Adolescent sexuality; LGBT youth; parent-adolescent relationships; childhood development

John J Sampson

John J Sampson

Professor, School of Law
jsampson@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1267

Expertise: Family Law; abuse and neglect of children; child custody and support; community property; legislation; paternity; children''s rights; Texas marital relations and divorce

Delida  Sanchez

Delida Sanchez

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
delida.sanchez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0368

Expertise: Interested in teaching and research in the area of multicultural counseling, exploring ethnic and racial identity development, and mental health outcomes among Black and Latino adolescents.

Diane L Schallert

Diane L Schallert

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
dschallert@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0784

Expertise: Investigates the interface between language and learning, socio-functional descriptions of both oral and written language use, how students learn from classroom interactions especially those that occur online, and affective factors that influence learning.

Allison  Skerrett

Allison Skerrett

Associate Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
askerrett@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 4883

Expertise: Secondary English education in urban contexts Adolescent literacy practices in school and outside school contexts Transnational youths' literacy practices and learning across transnational social and educational settings Sociocultural influences on teaching and learning

David W Springer

David W Springer

Director, RGK Center for Philanthropy and Community Service, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
dwspringer@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0512, +1 512 232 7062

Expertise: Juvenile justice system reform, community-based services with youth, criminal justice, community-based participatory research

Kevin D Stark

Kevin D Stark

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
kstark@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0267, +1 512 471 4407

Expertise: Studies the application of cognitive-behavioral interventions to behavior problems in schools, and the assessment, treatment, and theoretical models of depression in children and adolescents.

Mary A Steinhardt

Mary A Steinhardt

Professor, Department of Kinesiology and Health Education, College of Education
msteinhardt@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 3535

Expertise: Focuses on how individuals successfully adapt to stress and build health resilience.

Marie-Anne P Suizzo

Marie-Anne P Suizzo

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education
msuizzo@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0379, +1 512 471 4155

Expertise: Research interests center around how parent-child relationships, parental involvement, and child socialization shape children's and adolescents' development and learning across cultures and ethnic groups.

Elizabeth  Swanson

Elizabeth Swanson

Research Associate Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
easwanson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2320

Jessica R Toste

Jessica R Toste

Assistant Professor, Department of Special Education, College of Education
jrtoste@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 6551

Expertise: Reading intervention; learning disabilities; word reading; upper elementary; motivation; self-determination; psychosocial processes; teacher-student relationship; working alliance

Fatima A Varner

Fatima A Varner

Assistant Professor, Human Dev & Family Sci, , College of Natural Sciences
fvarner@utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8580

Expertise: adolescene and young adulthood, human development, diversity and culture, parenting and caregiving

Patrick P Wong

Patrick P Wong

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
patwong@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8962

Expertise: social policy, family and child welfare, children services, mental health, poverty issues, housing, community development

David S Yeager

David S Yeager

Associate Professor, Department of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts
dyeager@utexas.edu

Expertise: Social-cognitive development during adolescence; Motivation; Behavior change; Aggression and bullying; Research methodology and psychological measurement; Psychological interventions

Cara  Young

Cara Young

Assistant Professor, School of Nursing
cyoung@mail.nur.utexas.edu

Expertise: Child and adolescent health; adolescent mental health promotion and prevention; mindfulness; mental health stigma; provision of primary health care

Luis H Zayas

Luis H Zayas

Dean, School of Social Work, Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost, School of Social Work
lzayas@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1937
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Latino adolescents, suicide prevention, child and adolescent mental health, culturally competent interventions, immigration, minorities