Browse by Subject


Search results for "US politics government"

 


Jeffrey B Abramson

Jeffrey B Abramson

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
jabramson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 6224, +1 512 232 7267

Expertise: Constitutional law; civil liberties; the jury; political theory

Terrell  Blodgett

Terrell Blodgett

Professor Emeritus, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
blodgett@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 474 7612

Expertise: Local and state government management, operations, and political structures; election methods of governing bodies in local government; nonprofit management

Christopher P Brown

Christopher P Brown

Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education
cpbrown@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 2288

Expertise: Impact of policymakers' high stakes reforms on teachers; early learning standards; pre-kindergarten assessment and alignment with elementary school; teacher education; curriculum development

Robert A Divine

Professor Emeritus, Department of History, College of Liberal Arts
rdivine@austin.rr.com
+1 512 475 7212

Expertise: Twentieth century American foreign policy; history of the American presidency

Angela M Evans

Angela M Evans

Dean, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
dean.a.evans@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 3200

Expertise: Public policy, public administration, U.S. politics, leadership and ethics in government

Alan W Friedman

Alan W Friedman

Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
friedman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8376, +1 512 471 4991

Expertise: British and American modernism; the novel; drama, especially Shakespeare; international programs, faculty governance and academic freedom

James K Galbraith

James K Galbraith

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
galbraith@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1244

Expertise: Macroeconomic policy; monetary policy, economic development policies; comparative economic policy; economic inequality

Charles E Gholz

Charles E Gholz

Associate Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
egholz@alum.mit.edu
+1 512 471 5882

Expertise: Dr. Gholz works on innovation, defense management, and U.S. foreign policy. He is the coauthor of two books: Buying Military Transformation: Technological Innovation and the Defense Industry, and U.S. Defense Politics: The Origins of Security Policy. His recent scholarship focuses on energy security. He previously taught at the University of Kentucky's Patterson School of Diplomacy and International Commerce. He is also a research affiliate of MIT's Security Studies Program, a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and associate editor of the journal Security Studies. His PhD is from MIT.

Sherri R Greenberg

Sherri R Greenberg

Clinical Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
srgreenberg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 8324, +1 512 656 6592

Expertise: A member of the Texas House of Representatives from 1991-2001, Greenberg?s areas of expertise include state and local government, public finance and budgeting, education, health care, transportation, and campaigns and elections in the state of Texas.

Kenneth F Greene

Kenneth F Greene

Associate Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
kgreene@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7206

Expertise: Mexican and Latin American politics; political parties and elections in Mexico and the rest of Latin America; authoritarianism and democratization; research method

Roderick P Hart

Roderick P Hart

Professor, Department of Communication Studies, College of Communication
rod.hart@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 1956

Expertise: Media and politics; civic participation; political campaigns; political rhetoric

James R Henson

James R Henson

Director of Communication Strategy and Director of the Texas Politics Project, Liberal Arts Instructional Technology Services, College of Liberal Arts, College of Liberal Arts
j.henson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0090

Expertise: Texas politics; presidential elections; Internet and politics; political campaigns; Texas Politics Project

John C Higley

John C Higley

Professor Emeritus, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
jhigley@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7236, +1 512 471 9607

Expertise: Comparative Politics, Political Sociology, Political Elites

Jennifer J Holme

Jennifer J Holme

Associate Professor, Department of Educational Administration, College of Education
jholme@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Dr. Holme's research focuses on the politics and implementation of educational policy, with a particular focus on the relationship among school reform, equity, and diversity in schools. Her research interests include: school desegregation (currently focusing on inter-district programs), high stakes testing (exit level testing); and school choice policy.

Aletha C Huston

Aletha C Huston

Professor Emeritus, Department of Human Development and Family Sciences, College of Natural Sciences
achuston@utexas.edu

Expertise: Child Development; poverty and child policy; child care; television influences on children

Nathan M Jensen

Nathan M Jensen

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
natemjensen@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Relationship between multinational corporations and domestic governments; politics of natural resources; political economy of international institutions; diffusion of policy across borders; business corruption; civil war

Sanford V Levinson

Sanford V Levinson

Professor, School of Law
slevinson@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1351

Expertise: Constitutional Law, constitutional design, emergency powers and constitutional theory, torture and the law

Raul L Madrid

Raul L Madrid

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
rmadrid@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7246

Expertise: Latin American politics, democracy studies, comparative ethnic politics, and comparative social policy

Stephen P Magee

Stephen P Magee

Professor, Department of Finance, Red McCombs School of Business
stephen.magee@mccombs.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 5777

Expertise: Business: finance and economics; international economic policy; tariffs and protection; intellectual property; royalty rates on patents; the price of new technology; international finance; international economics; antitrust economics; firm valuation; business, economics & labor.

Eric L McDaniel

Eric L McDaniel

Associate Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
emcdaniel@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7268

Expertise: Religion and politics; Black politics; organizational behavior

Paul D Miller

Paul D Miller

Associate Director, Clements Center
paul.miller@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: National security, international security, public affairs, CIA, history, strategy, statecraft, international politics, foreign affairs

Julie A Minich

Julie A Minich

Assistant Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts
minichja@utexas.edu

Expertise: Chicana/o Literary and Cultural Studies; Latina/o Literary and Cultural Studies; LGBT Studies; Feminist Studies; and Disability Studies

Paula R Newberg

Paula R Newberg

Clinical Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
pnewberg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7270

Expertise: human rights; democratic governance and foreign policy in crisis and transition states

Ami  Pedahzur

Ami Pedahzur

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
pedahzur@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1452, +1 512 232 4608

Expertise: Terrorism, counterterrorism, political radicalism, special operations forces, Israeli politics

H W Perry

H W Perry

Associate Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
hwperry@mail.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1852, +1 512 232 7228

Expertise: U.S. Supreme Court; constitutional interpretation; the intersection of law and politics; free speech; class actions; public law

David F Prindle

David F Prindle

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
dprindle@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7214

Expertise: American politics, including elections, Congress, the Presidency; the politics of truth and deception; the politics of evolution

Victoria E Rodriguez

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
victoria@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 475 8620

Expertise: Politics in Mexico; decentralization in Latin America; women and politics in Mexico and Latin America; gender and public policy; US policy development; theory of public policy.

Daron R Shaw

Daron R Shaw

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
dshaw@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7275

Expertise: American politics; campaigns and elections; public opinion and voting behavior; polls and survey research.

William G Spelman

William G Spelman

Professor, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
spelman@mail.utexas.edu

Expertise: Urban policy and management; urban politics; criminal justice policy; prisons; municipal policing; community crime prevention

David B Spence

David B Spence

Professor, Business, Government and Society, Red McCombs School of Business
david.spence@mccombs.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 0778, +1 512 471 3322

Expertise: David Spence is a professor in the Department of Business, Government and Society at The University of Texas at Austin. Professor Spence's research and teaching focuses on business-government relations and the regulation of business, particularly energy and environmental regulation. Before coming to academia, he was a practicing attorney representing public utilities, energy companies and others in connection with a wide variety of environmental and energy regulatory matters.

James C Spindler

James C Spindler

Professor, School of Law
jspindler@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 1096

Expertise: Securities regulation, corporate law, corporate finance, securities disclosure, corporate fraud, corporate governance, executive compensation, securitizations, and auction rate securities

Paul J Stekler

Paul J Stekler

Department Chair, Department of Radio-Television-Film, College of Communication
paul.stekler@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6679

Expertise: Politics, Southern politics, political campaigns, political advertising and how polls affect campaigns and campaign messaging; documentary filmmaking

Peter  Ward

Peter Ward

Professor and C.B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair in US-Mexico Relations, Lyndon B Johnson School of Public Affairs
peter.ward@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 6302

Expertise: Latin American urbanization, contemporary Mexican politics, community development and housing policy in developing countries, planning in Mexico City, colonia-type housing in the United States, US-Mexico relations, Governance and politics and Latin America

Rachel  Wellhausen

Rachel Wellhausen

Assistant Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
rwellhausen@utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7202

Expertise: International political economy, politics of multinational corporations, international investment and trade treaties, Investor-State Dispute Settlement (ISDS), sovereign debt, politics of science and technology, Native American economic development

Kurt G Weyland

Kurt G Weyland

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
kweyland@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7253

Expertise: Democratization and authoritarian rule, social policy and policy diffusion, and populism in Latin America and Europe

Samuel M Wilson

Samuel M Wilson

Professor, Department of Anthropology, College of Liberal Arts
s.wilson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 471 4206

Expertise: Anthropology of culture contact; prehistory and history; indigenous people of the Caribbean; culture; complex societies; digital technology and its impact on human societies; Arts and Humanities

Christopher  Wlezien

Christopher Wlezien

Professor, Department of Government, College of Liberal Arts
wlezien@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7236

Expertise: Public opinion, public policy, political institutions, elections, research methods