Dell Medical School Experts


Steven  Abrams

Steven Abrams

Professor of Pediatrics, Dell Medical School
sabrams@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 4700

Expertise: pediatrics, mineral requirements of children of all ages, growth of preterm infants and the use of specialized nutritional practices,

Kevin  Bozic

Kevin Bozic

Professor of Surgery, Dell Medical School
kevin.bozic@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5067

Expertise: management of patients with arthritis of the hip and knee, health policy and health care services research, healthcare technology assessment, cost-effectiveness analysis, shared medical decision making, and value-based payment and delivery models

Nick N Bryan

Nick N Bryan

Professor of Diagnostic Medicine, Dell Medical School
nick.bryan@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5063

Stacey H Chang

Stacey H Chang

Executive Director, Design Institute for Health, Dell Medical School
stacey.chang@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5087

Expertise: design approaches to solving systemic health care challenges,

Sue Cox

Sue Cox

Executive Vice Dean for Academics, Dell Medical School
suecox@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5102

Expertise: Medical Education, Obstetrics, Gynecology, Preterm Labor, Antepartum Pyelonephritis, Sexually Transmitted Infections

Karen B Desalvo

Professor of Internal Medicine, Department of Medicine, Dell Medical School
karen.desalvo@gmail.com

Gail Eckhardt

Associate Dean of Cancer Programs, Director of the LIVESTRONG Cancer Institutes, Dell Medical School
gail.eckhardt@austin.utexas.edu

Jane C Edmond

Department Chair, Dell Medical School
jane.edmond@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5681, +1 512 495 5682

Eddie E Erlandson

Eddie E Erlandson

Director of Leadership and Coaching, Department of Medical Education, Dell Medical School
eddie.erlandson@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5182

Charles Fraser

Professor of Surgery and Perioperative Care, Department of Surgery and Perioperative Care, Dell Medical School

Richard B Freeman

Richard B Freeman

Senior Executive for Special Initiatives, Dell Medical School
richard.freeman@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5044

Expertise: Value based care, Risk bearing payment models, Fee for service, Physician practice management, Transplant/Transplantation, Immune Response, Immunology of Liver Regeneration, Viral Infections in Transplantation, Long-term outcomes after transplants, and Donor organ policies

Mini Kahlon

Vice Dean for Health Ecosystem, Dell Medical School
mkahlon@austin.utexas.edu

Lisa C Kirsch

Lisa C Kirsch

Senior Policy Director, Dell Medical School
lisa.kirsch@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5131

Expertise: health care delivery and payment, Medicaid, children's health insurance

William  Lawson

William Lawson

Professor Emeritus, Department of Psychiatry, Dell Medical School
william.lawson@austin.utexas.edu

Expertise: Mental Health, Violence and Mental Illness, Racial and Ethnic Issues in Mental Health, Mental Disorders, Substance Abuse, Ethnic Disparities in Care, Access to Care, Ethnic Issues in Pharmacotherapy

Beto Lopez

Beto Lopez

Managing Director, Design Institute for Health, The Design Institute for Health, Dell Medical School
beto.lopez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5088
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: design, systems thinking, sustainable development, business strategy, rapid prototyping

Christopher P Moriates

Christopher P Moriates

Assistant Dean of Healthcare Value, Dell Medical School
cmoriates@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5168

Expertise: curriculum, value-based healthcare

David Paydarfar

Professor of Neurology, Dell Medical School
david.paydarfar@austin.utexas.edu

Michael P Pignone

Department Chair, Dell Medical School
pignone@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5137

Melinda Price

Executive Director, Commercialization, Dell Medical School
mellie.price@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5123

Lourdes J Rodriguez

Lourdes J Rodriguez

Associate Professor of Population Health, Department of Population Health, Dell Medical School
lourdes.rodriguez@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5041, +1 512 495 5197

William M Sage

William M Sage

Professor, School of Law
bsage@law.utexas.edu
+1 512 232 7806

Expertise: Health law, regulatory theory, antitrust, and professional responsibility

Steve Strakowski

Steve Strakowski

Department Chair, Dell Medical School
steve.strakowski@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5114

Expertise: Mental Health, Psychiatry

Elizabeth Teisberg

Executive Director, Institute for Value in Health and Care, Dell Medical School
teisberg@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5179

Expertise: value-based health care strategy,

Bill  Tierney

Bill Tierney

Department Chair, Dell Medical School
tierney@utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5006

Expertise: Population Health, Health Promotion, Disease Prevention, Medical Informatics, Big Data, Data Analytics/Epidemiology, New Models of Care, General Internal Medicine, Primary Care, Hospital Medicine, Health Services/Systems Research, Global Health

Scott  Wallace

Scott Wallace

Managing Director, Institute for Value in Health and Care, Dell Medical School
scott.wallace@austin.utexas.edu
+1 512 495 5127

Expertise: value-based health care delivery, Experience Group research tool, health IT, chronic care models, outcomes measurement, innovation and financing issues in health care, policy

Thomas  Yankeelov

Thomas Yankeelov

Director of Cancer Imaging Research, LIVESTRONG Cancer Institutes, Dell Medical School
thomas.yankeelov@utexas.edu
+1 512 417 1733

Expertise: advanced imaging methods for the early identification, assessment and prediction of tumors and their response to therapy

Amy  Young

Amy Young

Chief Clinical Officer, Vice Dean of Professional Practice, Dell Medical School
amyyoung@austin.utexas.edu
Spanish Speaker

Expertise: Women's Health